Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington

subpage header image

Tyron Cooper

Tyron Cooper

Assistant Professor
Alma Mater: PhD in Ethnomusicology Indiana University
Phone: (812) 855-5828
Office:Ballantine Hall 516
icon-pdfDownload full CV



Dr. Cooper is a two-time Emmy award nominee and holds a BA degree in music education from Bethune-Cookman University (BCU) as well as a MA in jazz studies and Ph.D in ethnomusicology both from Indiana University (IU). Along with his academic studies, Cooper’s expertise in arts and culture stems from decades of his participation during recordings and live performances as music director, guitarist, vocalist, composer and arranger for various national artists such as A Taste of Honey, Marietta Simpson, Angela Brown, Donnie McClurkin, Dionne Warwick, The Soulful Symphony, Walt Whittman and The Soul Children of Chicago, Kathy Taylor and Dorothy Norwood among others. He has transmitted his knowledge to diverse student bodies where he served on the music faculties of BCU, IU and Indiana University Purdue University-Indianapolis (IUPUI). He not only shares his expertise within academe, but also has become a sought after industry insider. This is evident in the fact that in 2012 Cooper was nominated for two Emmy awards for his work as talent and composer for the PBS documentaries, "Open Door: China In Indiana" and "Musical Threads: Expressions of a People." Dr. Cooper is also co-owner of Art Salad Productions a company that develops and provides support for multicultural arts education within various community and academic settings.

Selected Awards:

Emmy Nomination for PBS documentary, “Musical Threads: Expression of a People,”
in the category of Art/Entertainment as Talent/Composer  2012

Emmy Nomination for PBS documentary, “Open Door: China in Indiana,” in the
category of Musical Composition/Arrangements as composer/arranger   2012

Ford Foundation Dissertation Honorable Mention  2011

Ford Foundation Pre-Doctoral Fellowship   2005-2008

Ronald R. Smith Fellowship   2006-2007