Indiana University Bloomington
Choose which site to search

Distinguished Lecturer Series

The Distinguished Lecturer Series seeks to provide a venue for faculty and students working on various areas of antiquity to explore common interests. The Program normally invites two major scholars a year whose interests cross traditional disciplinary boundaries. The scholars are chosen by a formal nomination process from the faculty. For the process, each nomination shall be a co-nomination by faculty members from at least two different departments. The lectures are of broad interest to students and faculty members. Each visitor will present a public lecture and meet with interested students and faculty during his or her visit.

Distinguished Lecturers (2014-2015 academic year)

Fall 2014

Willeke Wendrich
UCLA, Joan Silsbee Chair of African Cultural Archaeology and Professor of Egyptian Archaeology and Digital Humanities

Spetember 25
Topic: Virtual Visits and Real-time Cultural Heritage Preservation: digital research and representations of ancient buildings and landscapes
5 pm 
Location: Ballantine Hall 331

This semester's distinguished lecturer Willeke Wendrich will also be giving a lectcture on Friday September 26 sponsored by NELC and the African Studies Program.

Topic: Egypt in Africa: ancient and modern views, biases and interpretations.

Location: 1:30pm Woodburn Hall

Spring 2015

William Harris
Columbia, William R. Shepherd Professor of History

April 2
Topic: Understanding Roman Money: Problems, Solutions, and More Problems
5 pm
Location: Kirkwood Hall 203

Past Distinguished Lecturers:

  • Richard Talbert (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
  • Dale Kinney (Bryn Mawr College)
  • Susan E. Alcock (University of Michigan)
  • Shadi Bartsch (University of Chicago)
  • Mary T. Boatwright (Duke)
  • Glen W. Bowersock (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)
  • Alan Cameron (Columbia)
  • John Dillon (Trinity College, Dublin)
  • Katherine Dunbabin (McMaster)
  • Robin Lane Fox (Oxford)
  • Christopher Gill (University of Exeter, UK)
  • Maud Gleason (Berkeley)
  • Fritz Graf (Ohio State University)
  • A. A. Long (Berkeley)
  • Joseph Manning (Yale)
  • Ian Morris (Stanford)
  • Josiah Ober (Stanford University)
  • James Porter (California, Irvine)
  • Richard Saller (Standford)
  • Brent Shaw (Princeton)
  • Lawrence Stager (Harvard
  • Raymond Van Dam (Michigan)
  • Heinrich von Staden (Institute of Advanced Study, Princeton)