Indiana University Bloomington
IU Search| Join Us| Contact Us
IU Picture APAFSC Title

To register for this event, you may either click this link: or send an email to and indicate:

a. Your meal preference (vegetarian or non-vegetarian)
b. Number of guests
c. Sessions that you will be attending (Lunch, Panel 1, 2, 3, and/or Post Conference Reception). Please note that luncheon seats are limited and we will confirm your attendance to the luncheon via email.

P R O G R A M Schedule:

Inaugural Inspiration Awards and Conference on

"Intercultural Hospitality"

Engaging the IU community to co-produce opportunities
for enriching intercultural hospitality within, across, and beyond
Asian American communities

Wednesday, April 9, 12:00 to 5 p.m.


LUNCH (12:00 a.m. - 1:30 p.m., Georgian Room, IMU)
Keynote: James Wimbush, Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Multicultural Affairs and Dean, University Graduate School
Awards: Asian Pacific American Inspiration Awards

PANEL 1 (1:30 - 2:30 p.m., State Room East, IMU)
Intercultural Campus Homes: Hospitality of Our Cultural Centers
Moderator: Liana Zhou, Director of Library and Archives, The Kinsey Institute
Brian Gilley, Director of First Nations Educational Cultural Center
Neal-Marshall (TBA)
Lillian Casillas-Origel, Director of La Casa
Melanie Castillo-Cullather, Director of Asian Culture Center

PANEL 2 (2:45 - 3:45 p.m., State Room East, IMU)
Intercultural Generosity: Giving and Receiving
Moderator: Harmeet Sawhney, Professor of Telecommunications, IU
Dena El Saffar and Tim Moore, Salaam Middle Eastern Music Ensemble
Samrat Upadhyay, Martha C. Kraft Professor of Humanities, IU
Katie Moulton, MFA student, Creative Writing Program, IU
Trevor Mackesey, MFA student, Creative Writing Program, IU
Hamid Ekbia, Associate Professor of Information Science, Cognitive Science, & International Studies, IU
Eugene Gloria, Professor of English, DePauw University

PANEL 3 (4:00 - 5:00 p.m. State Room East, IMU)
Intercultural Commons: Histories of our Future
Moderator: Joan Linton, Associate Professor of English, IU
Scott Russell Sanders, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of English, IU
Hilary Kahn, Director, Center for the Study of Global Change, IU
Ajay Mehrotra, Associate Dean for Research, Maurer School of Law, IU

RECEPTION (5:00 - 6:00 p.m., University Club, IMU)




Important Events