Indiana University Bloomington

Department of the History of Art

Faculty & Staff

 Adjunct
 Visiting Faculty
 Emeriti
 Staff

Faculty Member Contact Research Areas

Sarah Bassett
Associate Professor

Director of Graduate Studies

sebasset@indiana.edu

Medieval Mediterranean

Phillip Bloom

Assistant Professor

pebloom@indiana.edu

East Asian Art

On leave 2013-2014

Social Science Research Council: Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Fellowship

Melody Barnett Deusner

Assistant Professor

mdeusner@indiana.edu

American Art

Michelle Facos
Professor

mfacos@indiana.edu 19th century European Art
Adelheid M. Gealt
Professor
Director of the IU Art Museum
gealta@indiana.edu European painting of the 17th and 18th centuries

Margaret Graves
Assistant Professor

marggrav@indiana.edu Islamic Art and Architecture

Giles Knox
Associate Professor

gknox@indiana.edu Southern Renaissance/Baroque

Andrei Molotiu

Senior Lecturer

 

 

amolotiu@indiana.edu Eighteenth- and nineteenth-century French painting The theory and philosophy of art, Kant, Hegel, Heidegger and Derrida The Historiography of art and theories of viewer reception comics and sequential art.

Patrick McNaughton
Chancellor's Professor
Chair

mcnaught@indiana.edu African Art
Diane Reilly
Associate Professor
dreilly@indiana.edu Medieval Art

Bret Rothstein
Associate Professor

Director of Undergraduate Studies

brothste@indiana.edu Northern Renaissance/Baroque
Jeffrey Saletnik
Assistant Professor
saletnik@indiana.edu Modern art, architecture, and design; media theory

Dawna Schuld
Assistant Professor

dlschuld@indiana.edu Modern, Contemporary
Julie Van Voorhis
Associate Professor
julvanvo@indiana.edu Roman Art

Adjunct

Faculty Member Contact Research Areas

Claude Cookman

Associate Professor, School of Journalism

ccookman@indiana.edu Visual communications, photojournalism editing, history of photography, graphic communication, computer design, informational graphics and mass communications pedagogy.
Deborah Mauskopf Deliyannis
Assistant Professor, History
ddeliyan@indiana.edu Early medieval Europe; Medieval historiography; Urban change in Late Antiquity; Material culture and archaeology

Margaretha Kramer-Hajos
Assistant Professor, Classical Studies

mk22@indiana.edu

Aegean Bronze Age Cultures, especially Mycenaean, pottery, gender and age in the prehistoric Aegean

Eleanor W. Leach
Ruth N. Halls Professor, Classical Studies

leach@indiana.edu Roman Literature, Literary/Cultural Theory, Roman Art, Roman Letters

Diane Pelrine

Associate Professor,

 

Indiana University Art Museum Affiliate

dpelrine@indiana.edu

African art, especially from eastern and southern Africa, African crafts and textile

Art of the islands of the South Pacific,

Collecting and exhibiting ethnographic arts

Judy Stubbs

Adjunct Assistant Professor,

 

Indiana University Art Museum Affiliate

justubbs@indiana.edu Pamela Buell Curator of Asian Art Indiana University Art Museum areas of expertise include Japanese painting and prints as well as early Buddhist Sculpture in India and China. She is particularly interested in the cultural interaction between China and Japan.

Phoebe Wolfskill

Assistant Professor,

 

pwolfski@indiana.edu

American and African-American Art

Visiting Faculty

Faculty Member Contact Research Areas

Emeriti

Faculty Member Contact Research Areas

Sarah Burns
Professor

Ruth N. Halls Professor

burnss@indiana.edu American Art

Shehira Davezac
Associate Professor

davezac@indiana.edu

Art Theory

 

Molly Faries
Professor

Northern Renaissance/Baroque
B. J. Irvine
Director, Fine Arts Library
irvine@indiana.edu Women in academic librarianship; art librarianship
Janet Kennedy
Professor
kennedy@indiana.edu European art 1900-1920; Russian art

W. Eugene Kleinbauer
Professor

Early Christian, Byzantine and Carolingian art and architecture