Indiana University Bloomington

Department of the History of Art

Faculty & Staff

 Adjunct
 Visiting
 Emeriti
 Staff

Faculty Member Contact Research Areas

Sarah Bassett
Associate Professor

Director of Graduate Studies

sebasset@indiana.edu

Research Area: Late Antique and Byzantine Art

Phillip Bloom

Assistant Professor

pebloom@indiana.edu

Research Area: East Asian Art

Melody Barnett Deusner

Assistant Professor

mdeusner@indiana.edu

Research Area: American Art

Michelle Facos
Professor

mfacos@indiana.edu Research Area: 19th-century European Art

Adelheid M. Gealt
Professor
Director and Curator of the Art of the Western World before 1800

Indiana University Art Museum

gealta@indiana.edu Research Area: 17th- and 18th-century European Art

Margaret Graves
Assistant Professor

marggrav@indiana.edu Research Area: Islamic Art

Giles Knox
Associate Professor

gknox@indiana.edu Research Area: Southern Renaissance and Baroque Art

Patrick McNaughton
Chancellor's Professor
Department Chair

mcnaught@indiana.edu Research Area: African Art

Andrei Molotiu

Senior Lecturer

 

 

amolotiu@indiana.edu

Reseach Area: 18th- and 19th-century European Art; Comics and Sequential Art

Diane Reilly
Associate Professor
dreilly@indiana.edu Research Area: Romanesque and Gothic Art

Bret Rothstein
Associate Professor

Director of Undergraduate Studies

brothste@indiana.edu Research Area: Northern Renaissance and Baroque Art
Jeffrey Saletnik
Assistant Professor
saletnik@indiana.edu Research Area: Modern European Art; Architecture and Design

Dawna Schuld
Assistant Professor

dlschuld@indiana.edu Research Area: Contemporary Art
Julie Van Voorhis
Associate Professor
julvanvo@indiana.edu Research Area: Roman Art

Adjunct Faculty

Faculty Member Contact Research Areas

Deborah Mauskopf Deliyannis
Assistant Professor

Department of History
ddeliyan@indiana.edu Research Area: Early Medieval Europe; Material Culture

Margaretha Kramer-Hajos
Assistant Professor

Department of Classical Studies

mk22@indiana.edu

Research Area: Aegean Bronze Age Cultures

Eleanor W. Leach
Ruth N. Halls Professor

Department of Classical Studies

leach@indiana.edu Research Area: Roman Literature

Diane Pelrine

Raymond and Laura Wielgus Curator of the Arts of Africa, Oceania and the Americas

Indiana University Art Museum

dpelrine@indiana.edu

Research Area: African Art; Oceanic Art

Judy Stubbs

Pamela Buell Curator of Asian Art

Indiana University Art Museum

justubbs@indiana.edu Research Area: East Asian Art

Phoebe Wolfskill

Assistant Professor

Department of African American and African Diaspora Studies

pwolfski@indiana.edu

Research Area: American and African-American Art

Visiting Faculty

Faculty Member Contact Research Areas

Emeriti Faculty

Faculty Member Contact Research Areas

Sarah Burns

Ruth N. Halls Professor

burnss@indiana.edu Research Area: American Art

Bruce Cole
Distinguished Professor

Research Area: Southern Renaissance and Baroque Art

Shehira Davezac
Associate Professor

davezac@indiana.edu

Research Area: Art Theory

 

Molly Faries
Professor

Research Area: Northern Renaissance and Baroque Art
B. J. Irvine
Director, Fine Arts Library
irvine@indiana.edu Research Area: Art Librarianship
Janet Kennedy
Professor
kennedy@indiana.edu Research Area: Modern European Art; Russian Art

W. Eugene Kleinbauer
Professor

Research Area: Early Christian, Byzantine and Carolingian Art