Indiana University Bloomington
Arts and Sciences News at Indiana University Bloomington

Slavic's Beinek Earns Fulbright Award

Posted: Wednesday, May 1, 2013

BLOOMINGTON, Ind.—Justyna Beinek, Ph.D., assistant professor in the Slavic Languages and Literatures Department and Director of the Polish Language, Literature, and Culture Program at Indiana University, has been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant for research at the Institute for Literary Studies at the Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw, Poland, during the 2013-2014 academic year. The award was announced recently by the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

Beinek’s research project, titled "Catch Up and Get Ahead: The Idea of the West in Polish and Russian Cultures,” focuses on the West, a seemingly axiomatic category that has long lost its geographical meaning and acquired a new mythological and political dimension, particularly under communism.

“The fall of communism in 1989 and the enlargement of the European Union in 2004 engendered new conceptualizations of the West as a cultural category,” says Beinek. “The main issues I explore within my book include the relativity of the East-West divide, the cartographic instability of the West when viewed from the ‘Eastern’ perspective, and the imagery of desire and resentment in discourses of the West.”

Beinek is one of approximately 1,100 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program in 2013-2014.

The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the U.S. also provide direct and indirect support. Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields. The program operates in over 155 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given approximately 310,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and athletics. Forty-four Fulbright alumni from 12 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize, and 81 alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes. Prominent Fulbright alumni include: Muhammad Yunus, Founder, Grameen Bank, and 2006 Nobel Peace Prize recipient; Juan Manuel Santos, President of Colombia; Lee Evans, Olympic Gold Medalist; Rita Dove, former U.S. Poet Laureate and 1987 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry recipient; Riccardo Giacconi, 

Physicist and 2002 Nobel Laureate; Amar Gopal Bose, Chairman and Founder, Bose Corporation; Renee Fleming, soprano; Jonathan Franzen, Writer; and Daniel Libeskind, Architect.

Fulbright recipients are among more than 40,000 individuals participating in U.S. Department of State exchange programs each year. For more than sixty years, the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs has funded and supported programs that seek to promote mutual understanding and respect between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, a division of the Institute of International Education.

<< Back to List