Skip to Content, Skip to Site Navigation, Skip to Section Navigation, Skip to Search
Indiana University Bloomington

Department of Biology

Alumni & Development

The L.S. McClung Scholarship

Give Now buttonThanks to donors like you, the L.S. McClung Scholarship currently generates an estimated income of $9,800 annually.

About the L.S. McClung Scholarship

The McClung Scholarship was established in 1987 by Cornelius F. Sterling. Sterling was the first Indiana University undergraduate to receive a degree in bacteriology, the precursor to our current microbiology program. The award honors Professor L.S. McClung, who was chair of the Bacteriology Department when Sterling was a student.

The scholarship is available to in-state microbiology majors who excel academically and plan to work in the field of or pursue a graduate degree in microbiology.

Seth Staller, 2013 L. S. McClung Scholar

Staller, Seth
McClung Scholar Seth Staller. Photo: Kathy Wyss

Seth is earning his B.S. in Microbiology with Honors, as well as a B.S. in Biochemistry, as he enjoys the fusion between microbiology and biochemistry. He has received an Indiana University Prestige Scholarship since 2009.

Melanie Stamper, 2013 L. S. McClung Scholar

Janet and Melanie Stamper
Janet Stamper (left) with her daughter Melanie at Biology's April 26, 2013, Student Award Ceremony. Photo: Kathy Wyss

Melanie Stamper is earning a B.S. in Microbiology. She is on the Dean’s List, is a member of the IU Biology Club, and serves as secretary of the Nonprofit Leadership Alliance here at IU. Melanie is a 2009 graduate of the Youth Leadership Academy, was a public relations officer for two years for the Madison Community Youth Foundation, and volunteered with the United Way of Madison County for three years.

Read more about the McClung Scholarship requirements »

Copyright © 2015 | The Trustees of Indiana University | Copyright Complaints | Privacy Notice Site Index | Contact Us