Skip to Content, Skip to Site Navigation, Skip to Section Navigation, Skip to Search
Indiana University Bloomington

Department of Biology

Alumni & Development

Alfred Parson Mower Scholarship

Kayla Miller, 2013 Mower Recipient

Miller, Kayla
Kayla Miller is the graduate student recipient of the Mower Award. Courtesy photo

Kayla is earning her Ph.D. in Evolution, Ecology & Behavior and is a member of Jay Lennon's research group. Kayla is interested in understanding the biogeographic processes that influence the structure and function of microbial communities. Her current research looks at the patterns of bacterial diversity across forest and agricultural landscapes. In 2011, she coauthored papers that appeared in the Proceedings of the South Dakota Academy of Science and The Prairie Naturalist. She plans to use her Mower Award to help fund her travel to the Midwest Ecology & Evolution Conference and to the Ecological Society of America Conference. 

Terra Mauer, 2013 Mower Recipient

Terra and John Mauer
Mower undergrad recipient, Terra Mauer, with her dad, John Mauer, at our Student Award Ceremony. Photo: Kathy Wyss

Terra Mauer graduated in May 2013 with a B.S. in Biology and a minor in chemistry. She was a member of Yves Brun’s laboratory for four years, having joined through the Integrated Freshman Learning Experience Program. She was also a participant in the IU Science, Technology, and Research Scholars (STARS) Program. Terra’s senior research thesis was titled, “Stress and Aging in a Bacterium.” She was elected to Phi Beta Kappa in 2012 and has been on the Dean’s List all four years of her undergraduate career. Terra is an IU Founder’s Scholar and has received the IU Distinction Scholarship. She was an undergraduate teaching assistant for the department’s Genetics class for two semesters. Terra was the keynote speaker at the Indiana Junior Academy of Science and has given poster presentations through IU STARS, the Women in Science Program, and the Hutton Honors College. In the fall, Terra will be attending the University of Wisconsin's Microbiology Doctoral Training Program.

Read about the Mower Scholarship requirements for undergraduate students, or graduate students »

Copyright © 2014 | The Trustees of Indiana University | Copyright Complaints | Privacy Notice Site Index | Contact Us