Indiana University Bloomington
A photo collage of images. Click on the images to learn more.
Inner Asian & Uralic National Resource Center (IAUNRC) Sinor Research Institute for Inner Asian Studies (SRIFIAS) Center for Languages of the Central Asian Region (CeLCAR) Summer Language Workshop (SWSEEL)

Faculty

Current Faculty

Faculty Member Department Fields Contact Fall 2014 Office Hours
Atwood, Chris
Associate Professor
Mongolian studies catwood@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 321
(812) 855-4059

T 2:30 - 3:20 & by appointment
GB 321

Beckwith, Christopher
Professor
Central Eurasian studies beckwith@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 346
(812) 855-2428
R 2:15 - 4:00 & by appointment
GB 346
Bovingdon, Gardner
Associate Professor
Central Asian studies – Xinjiang gbovingd@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 344
(812) 856-0230
T 9:00 - 11:00
GB 344
Choksy, Jamsheed
Professor
Chair
Iranian studies jchoksy@indiana.edu
Eigenmann Hall 703
(812) 855-8643

By appointment

DeWeese, Devin
Professor
Central Asian studies deweese@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 343
(812) 855-2298

T 11:00 - 12:15 & by appointment
GB 343

 
Graber, Kathryn
Assistant Professor
Central Eurasian studies

graberk@indiana.edu
Student Building 248
812-856-3777

W 1:45 - 3:45 & by appointment
SB 248

Hooker, Lynn
Associate Professor
Hungarian studies lhooker@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 235
(812) 856-0167

M 1:00 - 2:30
W 10:30 - 11:30 & by appointment
GB 235

Kara, György
Professor
Mongolian studies gkara@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 142
(812) 855-0460

W 2:30 - 3:30 & by appointment
GB 142

Lazzerini, Edward
Academic Specialist
Central Asian studies elazzeri@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 101
(812) 856-0671

Daily 11:00 - 12:00 & by appointment
GB 101

Losensky, Paul
Associate Professor
Iranian studies plosensk@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 207
(812) 855-9665

M 12:30 - 2:00 & by appointment
GB 207
F 12:30 - 2:00 & by appointment
BH 917

Özçelik, Öner
Assistant Professor
Turkic and Central Asian linguistics and second language acquisition oozcelik@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 323
(812) 855-3759

By appointment
GBl 323

Raun, Toivo
Professor
Baltic-Finnish studies raunt@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 234
(812) 855-4907

T 10:00 - 11:00
R 1:00 - 2:00
GB 234

Sela, Ron
Associate Professor
Central Asian studies rsela@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 334
(812) 856-7017

M 9:30 - 12:00
GB 334

Shahrani, Nazif
Professor
Central Asian studies, Iranian studies shahrani@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 236
(812) 855-4858

T 2:00 - 3:00 & by appointment
GB 236

Silay, Kemal
Professor
Turkish studies ksilay@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 220
(812) 855-5227

F 2:00 - 3:00 & by appointment
EG 1133

Sperling, Elliot
Associate Professor
Tibetan studies sperlin@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 143
(812) 855-7344

W 11:00 - 12:30
GB143

Adjunct Faculty

Faculty Member Department Fields Contact
Ibold, Hans
Adjunct Asst Professor
Assistant Professor in Journalism hibold@indiana.edu
Ernie Pyle 200
(812) 856-1931

Jatso, Arja 
Distinguished Scholar in Residence
Arjia Rinpoche, Tibetan Mongolian Buddhist Cultural Center tmbculturalcenter@gmail.com
3655 Snoddy Road
(812) 336-6807
Mokhtarian, Jason
Adjunct Asst Professor
Assistant Professor in Jewish Studies & Religions Studies jmokhtar@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 307
(812) 855-8358
Nance, Richard
Adjunct Asst Professor
Assistant Professor in Religious Studies
Office Hours: T 2:00-4:00
rfnance@indiana.edu
Sycamore 230
(812) 855-6159
Pyburn, Anne
Adjunct Professor
Professor of Anthropology apyburn@indiana.edu
Student Building 130
(812) 855-2563

Sahin, Kaya
Adjunct Asst Professor
Assistant Professor in History iksahin@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 814
(812) 856-0309

Schlesinger, Jonathan
Adjunct Asst Professor

Assistant Professor in History joschles@indiana.edu
Ballantine Hall 742
(812) 855-3236

Trix, Francis
Adjunct Professor

Professor of Anthropology ftrix@indiana.edu
Memorial Hall 322
(812) 856-4953

Emeriti Faculty

To contact any of the emeriti faculty by phone, please call (812) 855-2233.

Faculty Member Research Interests
Basgoz, Ilhan
Professor Emeritus
Bayerle, Gustav
Professor Emeritus
bayerle@indiana.edu
Sixteenth and Seventeenth Century Ottoman history; Hungarian history; and Ottoman philology
Bregel, Yuri
Professor Emeritus
bregel@indiana.edu
History of Islamic Central Asia
Fierman, William
Professor Emeritus
wfierman@indiana.edu
Politics of Central Asia, especially policies affecting language, Islam, and state identities.

Glassie, Henry
Adjunct Professor Emeritus
glassieh@indiana.edu

Folktales, songs, and material culture -- ceramics, textiles, and architecture -- of the United States, Ireland, Turkey, Bangladesh, and Japan

Szegedy-Maszák, Mihály
Professor Emeritus
szegedym@indiana.edu

 

Cultural studies, comparative literature, Interacts studies, narratology, structuralism and translation, romanticism, nationalism, modernism and postmodernism

Lecturers

Faculty Member Department Fields Contact Fall 2014 Office Hours
Crum, Sibel
Lecturer
Turkish Language sariogul@indiana.edu
Eigenmann 1131
(812) 856-5613

W 1:00 - 3:00 & by appointment
EG 1131

Daneshgar, Shahyar
Senior Lecturer
Persian, Azerbaijani Languages sdaneshg@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 301
(812) 856-0025

W 1:30 - 3:30
GB 301

Hodjaev, Malik
John D. Soper Senior Lecturer
Uzbek Language mhodjaev@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 301
(812) 856-0025
MW 1:00 - 2:00
GB 301
Kivik, Piibi-Kai
Lecturer
Estonian Language pkivik@indiana.edu
Memorial Hall M04
(812) 856-5064

MW 1:00 - 2:00 & by appointment
GB 141

Legden, Tserenchunt
Senior Lecturer
Mongolian Language tlegden@indiana.edu
Memorial Hall W006
(812) 855-2099

W 1:00 - 2:00 & by appointment
MM 006

Nazarova, Gulnisa
Senior Lecturer
Uyghur Language gnazarov@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 304
(812) 856-2814

M 1:30 - 2:30 & by appointment
GB 304

Rabsal, Gedun
Senior Lecturer
Tibetan Language grabsal@indiana.edu
Memorial Hall W006
(812) 855-2099

T 11:00 - 12:00
MM 006

Taurama, Mikko
Lecturer
Finnish Language mtaurama@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 233
(812) 855-4862

WR 12:15 - 1:00 & by appointment
GB 233

Varga, Valeria
Senior Lecturer
Hungarian Language vvarga@indiana.edu
Memorial Hall MM04
(812) 856-5064

R 11:00 - 12:00 & by appointment
MM 004

Zlotin, Roman
Senior Lecturer
Geography rzlotin@indiana.edu
Weatherly Hall 110
By appointment

Librarians

Faculty Member Contact
Khabibullaev, Akram
Librarian for Middle Eastern, Islamic, and Central Eurasian Studies
akkhabib@indiana.edu
Wells Library E960
(812) 855-9885

Wen-ling Liu
Librarian for East Asian Collection and Tibetan Studies

wliu@indiana.edu
Wells Library E860
(812) 855-9695

Staff

Staff Member Contact

Niggle, Karen
Assistant to the Chair
Fiscal Officer

kniggle@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 153
(812) 855-2398

Younger, April
Administrative Secretary
Admissions Secretary
Student Support
Scheduling Officer

ayounger@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 157
(812) 855-2233

Breeding, Jackie
CEUS Office Assistant
Faculty Support

jmbreedi@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 157
(812) 855-2233

Joseph Cleveland
Graduate Assistant


Goodbody Hall 147

Undergraduate Academic Support Contact

Ron Sela
Director of Undergraduate Studies

rsela@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 334
(812) 856-7017

Ashcraft, Jennifer
Undergraduate Academic Advisor
T/W/R 8:00 AM-12:00 PM & 1:00-5:00 PM and by appointment

jeashcra@indiana.edu
Owen Hall 005
(812) 855-4538

Piibi-Kai Kivik
Language Coordinator

ceuslc@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 141
(812) 856-7442

Graduate Academic Support Contact

Hooker, Lynn
Director of Graduate Studies

lhooker@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 235
(812) 856-0167
Piibi-Kai Kivik
Language Coordinator

ceuslc@indiana.edu
Goodbody Hall 141
(812) 855-7442