Indiana University Bloomington
A photo collage of images. Click on the images to learn more.
Inner Asian & Uralic National Resource Center (IAUNRC) Sinor Research Institute for Inner Asian Studies (SRIFIAS) Center for Languages of the Central Asian Region (CeLCAR) Summer Language Workshop (SWSEEL)

Prizes and Awards

The Denis Sinor Prize was established in honor of Indiana University Distinguished Professor Emeritus Denis Sinor. One to two prizes are given annually for the best papers submitted by any IU student in a CEUS class during the school year. Students submit papers themselves to the contest. The competition is handled by the IU Association of Central Eurasian Students. Papers have all identifiers removed and are judged by a panel of ABD-level CEUS doctoral students

The Alo Raun Prize is named to honor the memory of Indiana University Professor Emeritus Alo Raun. The prize rewards student Excellence in Estonian and/or Finnish Studies. It is awarded by faculty committee, not applied for by students.

The György Ránki Prize honors the memory of György Ránki who was the first holder of the IU Hungarian Chair Visiting Professorship. The prize is awarded by faculty committee, not applied for by students. Recipients are students in good academic standing who demonstrate extraordinary commitment to Hungarian studies and show a commitment to spreading knowledge of Hungary on a local level.