Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington

News & Events


Six CMCL Undergraduates Earn Phi Beta Kappa Distinction

Six Communication and Culture undergraduates were recognized at the Phi Beta Kappa spring initiation banquet on April 28, 2009 in Alumni Hall, Indiana Memorial Union.  Alaine Burch, Lucas Collis, Audra Irvin, Shelley Leshin, Cara Scott and Payne Tatich all received PBK distinction, considered the highest honor conferred upon undergraduate liberal arts and sciences students, in recognition of a GPA in the top 10% of all College graduates after 4 years of undergraduate education.

PBK was founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary and is the oldest and most prestigious college honor society in the United States. PBK was created to foster and recognize excellence in the liberal arts and sciences.  The Department of Communication and Culture was represented at the bi-annual initiation banquet by Professor Robert Ivie.  We are honored that these students have distinguished themselves and our faculty by doing excellent work in the classroom during their tenure at Indiana University.  Please join us in congratulating them for this achievement.