English | Indiana Writing Workshop
W410 | 4378 | Ardizzone

ARR 2 credits per workshop--in different genres--for a maximum of 4

The Indiana University Writers' Conference (IUWC) offers
undergraduate credit for workshop participation in fiction, poetry,
and creative nonfiction. Students will receive two credit hours for
enrolling in one workshop, or four credit hours for enrolling in two
workshops, each of which will meet for two hours for five days, and
for revising the workshop manuscripts. Your grade will be based upon
your revisions, which must be submitted to the IUWC Director no
later than Friday, August 1. Students wishing to receive credit and
compete for scholarship support must submit an application and
manuscript by Thursday, April 10. (Late registration can occur until
the conference week, contingent upon workshop space.) All students
selecting the credit option on their applications will by registered
for two or four credit hours at in-state tuition rates by the
conference director. In addition to tuition and unremittable fees
owed directly to the IU Office of the Bursar, IUWC students must pay
a $25.00 application fee, a $300.00 enrollment fee, and $150.00 for
each workshop directly to the IUWC. All applicants who apply prior
to April 10 will be considered for scholarship support to help
defray conference costs. Application forms are available online at
http://php.indiana.edu/~iuwc or by contacting our office via email
(writecon@indiana.edu) or by phone (855-1877) to request a brochure.
The conference will occur from Sunday, June 22 through Friday, June
27.  IUWC workshop students may participate in all conference
activities, ranging from classes, panels, open mics, discussion
groups, and faculty readings to group outings. 2003 IUWC faculty
include Marilyn Chin, Brenda Hillman, Kevin Young (poetry
workshops), Aimee Bender, Robert Olen Butler, Achy Obejas (fiction
workshops), Alison Hawthorne Deming (creative nonfiction workshop),
Clint McCown (fiction classes), Amy Locklin (cross-genre classes),
A. Loudermilk (poetry classes), Elizabeth Dewberry (playwriting
classes), and David Wright (creative nonfiction classes). Please
contact Amy Locklin, the IUWC Director, at alocklin@indiana.edu or
855-1877 with any questions.