June 5 - June 10, 2005
2 cr.

Please note: While the conference meets for a week during Summer Session I, students are registered during Summer Session II, the period of revising their manuscripts.

The Indiana University Writers’ Conference (IUWC) offers graduate credit for workshop participation in poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. Students will receive two credit hours for enrolling in one workshop, which will meet for two hours Monday through Friday, with shorter meetings on Sunday and Friday, and for revising the workshop manuscript. Your grade will be based upon your revisions and statement of learning, which must be submitted to the IUWC director along with the application manuscripts by no later than August 1.

Students wishing to receive credit and compete for full to partial scholarship support must submit applications and manuscripts by April 1 (late registration may occur until the week of the conference). All students selecting the credit option on their applications will by registered for two credit hours at in-state tuition rates by the conference director. In addition to tuition and unremittable fees owed directly to the IU Office of the Bursar, a $50.00 application fee and a $500.00 workshop enrollment fee are owed directly to the IUWC ($25 of the $50 application fee will be applied to conference fees at time of billing). All applicants who apply prior to April 1 may be considered for scholarship support to help defray conference costs. Students currently enrolled in our Creative Writing Program as MFA candidates may pay the full IUWC fee to guarantee placement in the workshop of their choice, or may pay a much reduced fee for contingent placement; policies will be determined later this spring. Both groups are eligible for scholarship support. Application forms are available online at http://www.indiana.edu/~writecon/ or by contacting our office via email at writecon@indiana.edu, or by phone at 855-1877 to request a brochure.

IUWC workshop students may participate in all conference activities, ranging from screenwriting, nonfiction, fiction and poetry classes, panels, open mics, discussion groups, and faculty readings to group outings. 2005 IUWC faculty include Ruth Ellen Kocher, Yusef Komunyakaa, Maura Stanton (poetry workshops), Tony Ardizzone, Chitra Divakaruni, David Leavitt (fiction workshops), Carol Bly (combined nonfiction and fiction workshop), Cynie Corie, Mark Axelrod, David Lazar, Brian Leung, and Martha Rhodes (various classes). Please contact Amy Locklin, the IUWC Director, at alocklin@indiana.edu or 855-1877 with any questions.