PGA TOUR Players Coming to Indiana University Golf Course

(Bloomington, IN) — Four-time PGA TOUR champion Mark Wilson and his wife, Amy Carlson Wilson, a 1999 graduate of Indiana University’s Kelley School of Business, have announced they will be hosts for the Spikes for Speakers Golf Classic Pro Am on September 9, 2011 at the Indiana University Golf Course, Championship Course.

The tournament will bring PGA TOUR champions and former IU golf team members together with amateur players to benefit a lectureship series that has been jointly established by the Wilsons, the Delta Gamma Foundation and the Indiana University Foundation.

The goal of the lectureship series is to bring visionaries in their respective field to the students, faculty and community of Bloomington, IN. Delta Gamma has brought similar lectureships to 16 other universities where speakers have included Madeline Albright, Queen Noor of Jordan, former President Gerald Ford, Maya Angelou, Robin Roberts, Blake Mycoskie, Jeff Probst, Michael J. Fox, and Colin Powell.

“Mark and I are blessed to be able to provide half of the grant needed to establish the lectureship series,” said Wilson. “We hope the Pro-Am event in September will serve as a catalyst to raising the matching funds required to ensure a fully endowed lectureship for everyone to enjoy for years to come.”

Among the players who have committed to participate are three former IU golf team members - Jeff Overton, Shaun Micheel and Steven Wheatcroft - as well as Wilson, who is currently one of only two players to have won twice on the PGA TOUR this year (Sony Open and Waste Management Open). Wilson also claimed two other PGA TOUR titles at the 2007 Honda Classic and 2009 Mayakoba Golf Classic. The professional field will be comprised of 16 PGA TOUR players and two Nationwide Tour players.

  • Overton (2005 IU graduate) qualified for the 2010 U.S. Ryder Cup Team where he posted a 2-2 record. He also finished solo second at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans and The Greenbrier Classic and tied for second at the Wyndham Championship and HP Byron Nelson Championship.

  • Micheel (1991 IU graduate) posted the biggest win of his career when he captured the 2003 PGA Championship, and also has two other titles to his credit at the 1999 NIKE Greensboro Open and the 1998 Singapore Open.
  • Wheatcroft (2001 IU graduate) recently clinched his first career win in record-setting fashion at the Nationwide Tour’s Melwood Prince George's County Open. Wheatcroft lapped the field by a Tour-record 12 strokes and posted the largest margin of victory in Nationwide Tour history.

The Lectureship series that Delta Gammas have started at 16 other campuses include three in the state of Indiana alone, with the newly-formed series at IU joining those already established at Butler and Purdue universities. While a student at Indiana University, Wilson served as chapter president of Delta Gamma, which has a 112-year history at the university.

Amy Wilson was president of the Indiana University chapter of Delta Gamma when she was an undergraduate.

Gifts are tax deductible and will be paid through the Delta Gamma Foundation. All proceeds from the event will then be gifted to the Indiana University Foundation where the lectureship endowment is held.

More details regarding format, sponsorship opportunities, player participation and ancillary events will be announced soon.

Disclaimer: The information provided on this Web site is intended for use by Delta Gamma members only. Delta Gamma Fraternity does not accept responsibility for misuse of this information by non-members and states that use of this information other than its intended purpose is strictly prohibited.

Page last updated: July 26, 2011