Call for IU Distinguished Asian Alumni nominations

Thursday, March 13, 2014

The Indiana University Asian Alumni Association, an affiliate of the IU Alumni Association, is pleased to announce that the governing board is seeking nominations for the 2014 Distinguished Asian/Pacific American Alumni Award of Indiana University.

The Distinguished Asian/Pacific American Alumni Award of Indiana University was established in 2006 for the purpose of recognizing outstanding men and women who impact their local communities and the greater Asian/Pacific American community, exhibit excellence and achievement in their careers, and inspire future IU alumni. By honoring our former Asian/Pacific American students, we hope to inspire today's students to strive for both personal and professional success. Our 2013 award recipient, Sophia Grace Travis, was posthumously honored this past fall for her contributions to IU and the Bloomington community.

Here is a complete listing of our past recipients (click here to view their photos):

2013 - Sophia Grace Travis, BA'92
2012 - Eugene Eoyang, PhD'71
2010 - Sau-Ling Cynthia Wong, BA'70
2009 - Anurag D. Mendhekar, MS'94, PhD'98
2008 - G. Michael Witte, BA'79, JD'82
2007 - Yoshito Kawahara, PhD'79
2006 - Belle Liang, BS'89

The Asian Alumni board members have worked hard to partner with departments of Indiana University, professional staff, student groups, the IU Alumni Association, and the Asian Culture Center to make the DAA a dynamic experience for all involved. We look forward to hearing from you and learning about graduates from your schools of whom you are proud.

The successful nominee will inspire current students, our future alumni! Your time and interest in submitting candidates for this prestigious award are greatly appreciated. Simply download the nomination form and begin the process. Please note that all nominations are due by 5:00 p.m., Friday, June 13, 2014.

Thank you in advance,
Thao Nelson, President
Indiana University Asian Alumni Association