Skip to: search, navigation, or content.

Indiana University

Support the Center


Yi-Lu Kuo

Yi-Lu Kuo

Ph.D. Student in Education and Volunteer

Yi-Lu Kuo is a doctoral student in Literacy, Culture, and Language Education, and Master's student in Chinese Language Pedagogy. While teaching Chinese in the Department of East Asian Languages and Cultures here at IU, Yi-Lu also volunteers for EASC. This spring she volunteered at the Lotus Blossom World Bazaar, a local art education outreach event, by assisting children and community members in various Asian inspired crafts. “I think guiding children in East Asian related hands-on activities is not only fun and meaningful, but also helps me to know more about my own culture,” she says. “I am also very glad to meet other volunteers and make more friends. I hope I can do more volunteering jobs in the future.”

Society of Friends of Korean Studies

The Society of Friends of Korean Studies (SOFOKS), a private fundraising organization, is a committed union between community and higher education ensuring continued support for Korean studies and young Korean studies scholars at Indiana University.


In 1983 under the leadership of Heun Y. Yune, M.D., now Professor Emeritus of Radiology at the IU School of Medicine, a group of business professionals and IU faculty in Indianapolis formed SOFOKS to encourage the development of Korean studies at IU. Since its founding, SOFOKS members have donated more than $190,000 to support students and faculty engaged in studying Korean language and culture, providing for, among other things, an annual fellowship for graduate students and an annual Excellence in Korean Studies award for undergraduates.

In commemoration of the 25th anniversary of SOFOKS in 2008, founder Dr. Yune wrote a fable expressing the longstanding commitment between the once fledgling Korean studies program and its supporting community of SOFOKS members. Read the fable (PDF or Word), and view a timeline (PDF) of the development of Korean studies at IU.

To join the Society of Friends of Korean Studies, easc [at] indiana [dot] edu (contact us).

Make a gift to the Korean Program Fund.

2011-12 Donors:

Mr. & Mrs. William T. Jackson
Dr. & Mrs. Heun Young Yune
Mr. & Mrs. Heung Chul Moon
Dr. & Mrs. Hee-Myung Park
Dr. In Sook Seo
Mr. & Mrs. Jaeyon Lee
Dr. & Mrs. Han Won Paik
Dr. & Mrs. Young Soo Suh
Dr. & Mrs. Moo Nahm Yum
Dr. Hwi Yul Suh
Dr. & Mrs. Bong Hyun Chang
Mr. & Mrs. Dal Soo Kwon
Dr. & Mrs. Hyo Sang Lee
Mr. & Mrs. Sung Jae Park
Dr. & Mrs. Kun Hong Kim
Mr. & Mrs. JaeYun Kim
Dr. & Mrs. Robert Lee