4 honored profs take education off campus. Each wins $5,000 for being nation's best.
Excerpts from USA Today; Arlington, Va.; Nov 14, 2000; Mary Beth Marklein;

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council
for Advancement and Support of Education today name the U.S. Professors of
the Year for 2000 in recognition of their dedication to teaching,
commitment to students and innovative instructional methods.

"Today's honorees are notable for their outstanding work with both their
college students and the community around them," says Vance Peterson,
president-designate of the council, which created the awards in 1981.
It is the only national awards program that recognizes college and
university professors for their teaching.

The winners, selected from nearly 500 faculty members nominated by
colleges and universities across the nation, are:
* Baccalaureate institution -- Robert Garvey, physics, College of the Holy
Cross, Worcester, Mass
* Community college -- Brad Baker, theater, Collin County Community
College District, Plano, Texas.
* Master's university and college -- Kathleen Regan, Spanish, University
of Portland (Ore.).
* Research and doctoral university -- Craig Nelson, biology/ public and
environmental affairs, Indiana University, Bloomington. Nelson has taught
introductory biology, undergraduate and graduate courses in evolution and
ecology, intensive freshman seminars, and interdisciplinary and honors
courses, among others, and received numerous accolades, including the
Amoco Foundation Award for Distinguished Teaching (1983).
He is a Carnegie Foundation scholar.

He also is a teacher's teacher, having published numerous articles and led
workshops on teaching practices. Besides educating, his students say, his
impact on personal lives has been significant.

"He has provided me with the tools to seek out solutions rather than just
identify the problems," says student Ian Parker-Regna, Class of 2001. "Doc
shows his curiosity, exposes his passion and wears his love for life on his
arm like a badge of optimism for all to see."

The Carnegie Foundation awards $5,000 to each of the national winners, who
exemplify the extraordinary undergraduate teaching taking place in diverse
academic settings at colleges and universities across the nation. The foundation
also is recognizing 47 state winners.