Indiana University Department of Chemistry Indiana University Department of Chemistry - Amar Flood Research Group Indiana University Department of Chemistry - Amar Flood Research Group Indiana university Bloomington


2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2007

News for 2014 is back on the Homepage


Student Highlights from 2013




ISMSC-8 (Arlington, VA), 6 posters from the group, two poster prizes and a DOE travel award
ACS Fall Indianapolis –  12 presentations from the Flood Group (6 posters, 6 orals)
NOBCChE Research Symposium, Indiana University
– Four posters and one poster award
+ others: FNANO, Earnest Campaigne Symp. on Heterocyclic Chem., PINDU


Semin Lee

ISMSC-8 – Conference vote winner, Arlington, VA
NOBCChE Research Symposium, Indiana University

Chris Benson

NOBCChE Research Symposium, Indiana University

Brandon Hirsch (see photo)

Fall ACS, Indianapolis – Colloids Division
ISMSC-8 – Grand Poster Prize Winner (Nature Chemistry and ChemComm), Arlington, VA



Semin Lee

Chester Davis Fellowship in Organic Chemistry (Indiana University)


Kevin McDonald

Congratulations to Kevin McDonald for securing a job in the polymer group at Nalco, an Ecolab Company in Naperville, IL.
Kevin joins one of many graduates from the Flood Group who have been employed in the world of functional materials. Yuran Hua (PhD 2012) is currently working for 3M in Shanghai, Kumar Parimal (PhD 2011) is working for Sabic, Innovative Plastics in Evansville, IN, and Kristy McNitt (MS 2008) is with 3M in Minnesota, MN.



December 2013: Amar is a new member of the Editorial Board for Supramolecular Chemistry



September 2013:

JACS Article showing how abiological foldamers
– in the form of double helices wrapped up around a single Cl anion–
can display hydrophobic collapse in the same way as proteins


Read more: Hua, Y; Liu, Y; Chen, C.-H.; Flood, A. H., Hydrophobic Collapse of Foldamer Capsules Drives Picomolar-Level Chloride Binding in Aqueous Acetonitrile Solutions, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2013, 135, 14401–14412. DOI



Conference 2013, July 7–11, Arlington VA

ISMSC banner

Organizers: Lyle Isaacs and Jeffery T. Davis (Univ. of Maryland), Amar H. Flood (Indiana Univ.)


Group Photo at the ISMSC Conference
Arlington, VA, July 7-11, 2013




Chris, Bo, Kevin, Brandon, Yun and Semin
Celebrating at the end of the banquet at the ISMSC



Nat Chem banner

June 16, 2013

CONGRATULATIONS Semin Lee for publication on Cyanostars in Nature Chemistry

Nature Chemistry

Lee, S.; Chen, C.-H.; Flood, A. H., A pentagonal cyanostar macrocycle with cyanostilbene CH donors binds anions and forms dialkylphosphate [3]rotaxanes, Nature Chem. 2013, 5, 704-710. DOI

Media Coverage:

"Macrocycle Stars In Anion-Grabbing Action"


National Science Foundation (NSF)

Iu News Room

The Analytical Scientist (Online Trade Magazine)
"Seeing Cyanostars", Rich Whitworth, 2013, Issue #0813, Sept 12

CS Dimer


June, 2013

Semin Lee for winning a Division of Organic Chemistry Travel Award

Division of Organic Chemistry

This award will be used to attend the National ACS Meeting in Indianapolis. Semin will present two talks on Cyanostars and Photoactive Foldamers


April, 2013

CONGRATULATIONS to the Award Winners

Bo Qiao for Excellence in Associate Instruction, Indiana University
Semin Lee for the Charles H. Stammer Award in Organic Chemistry, Indiana University
Patrick Gamache for a Summer Fellowship in Undergraduate Research, Indiana University


February, 2013

Cover Art

JPOC Cover

Lee, S.; Flood, A. H., Photoresponsive receptors for binding and releasing anions (Mini Review), J. Phys. Org. Chem. 2013 26, 79-86. Cover Art DOI