Indiana University Bloomington
Department of French and Italian

Emeriti Faculty

Julia BondanellaJulia Bondanella
Professor Emerita of Italian
bondane@indiana.edu
Interests: Medieval and Renaissance literature, comparative literature, history of ideas, Petrarchism and lyric poetry, translation

Peter BondanellaPeter Bondanella
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Italian
bondanel@indiana.edu
Interests: Renaissance and modern literature, comparative literature and literary theory, Italian cinema; Hollywood images of Italian Americans

UnavailableDiana Carr
Professor Emerita of French
carr@indiana.edu
Interests: French Enlightenment, especially Diderot

UnavailableRichard Carr
Professor Emeritus of French
carrr@indiana.edu
Interests: 16th-century French literature

Gilbert ChaitinGilbert Chaitin
Professor Emeritus of French
chaitin@indiana.edu
Interests: 19th- & 20th-century French & European novel, thesis novel, theory, criticism & rhetoric, literature & psychoanalysis, philosophy, politics, education

Mona HoustonMona Houston
Associate Professor Emerita of French
houstonm@indiana.edu
Interests: 17th-century French literature, translation, diction for singers

Edoardo LebanoEdoardo A. Lèbano
Professor Emeritus of Italian
lebano@indiana.edu
Interests: Renaissance epic, 19th-century Italian narrative, Italian American history

Rosemary LloydRosemary Lloyd
Rudy Professor Emerita of French
rolloyd@indiana.edu
Interests: French 19th- and 20th-century poetry and fiction, interrelationships between literature and the visual arts, artists' books, translation, Australian literature

Russel PfohlRussell Pfohl
Associate Professor Emeritus of French
pfohl@indiana.edu
Interests: 17th-century French literature

Samuel RosenbergSamuel Rosenberg
Professor Emeritus of French
srosenbe@indiana.edu
Interests: Medieval French language and literature, especially lyric poetry and Arthurian narrative; translation

UnavailableWilliam Trapnell
Professor Emeritus of French
Interests: 18th-century French literature, especially Voltaire

Albert ValdmanAlbert Valdman
Rudy Professor Emeritus of French Linguistics
Director, Creole Institute
valdman@indiana.edu
Interests: French language pedagogy, Haitian Creole, Louisiana French, second language acquisition