Indiana University Bloomington
Department of French and Italian

French Undergraduate Awards

Grace P. Young Undergraduate Awards

Grace P. Young, whose great-grandfather David H. Maxwell was one of the founders of Indiana University, served as an Instructor of French from 1917-1923; and as Professor from 1923 until her retirement in 1956. She collaborated with her husband Bert Young on the publication in 1947 of Le Registre de la Grange, 1659-1685, an account of the theatrical activities of Molière's troupe. It was through a bequest of copies of the Registre that the Grace P. Young Fund was established in 1970.

  • 2015 - Ava Dickerson, Kathleen Gordon, Ash Kulak
  • 2014 - Anjona Ghosh, Thomas Bebekoski, Alyssa Lindley, Miranda Hoegberg
  • 2013 - Ana Fumurescu, Eleanor Berry, Chelsea Templeton
  • 2012 - Olivia Stidham, Jessica Johnson, Andrew C. Johns
  • 2011 - Katelyn Colvin, Stephen Greist, Melissa Thompson

Charlotte F. Gerrard Memorial Prize

This award honors the memory of Charlotte F. Gerrard, who was a lecturer and Professor of French in the Department from 1965 to 2000. She earned her PhD from the University of Pittsburgh in 1966 and was a specialist of 20th-century French theatre. In addition to her research and teaching on theatre, she acted in plays as a young student and then directed several readings of French plays during her time at IU. She is remembered for her love of teaching and her lasting friendships with former students throughout the world.

  • 2015 - Isabel Bradley
  • 2014 - Alisa Klepach
  • 2013 - Jacob Ladyga
  • 2012 - Elizabeth Shariat Panahi
  • 2011 - Lee William McHenry

Quentin M. Hope Memorial Award

Quentin M. Hope was Professor of French in the Department of French and Italian from 1956 to 1988, serving as chair from 1965 to 1977. His life-long passion was 17th-century French literature, in particular the writing of Charles de Saint-Evremond, and his PhD thesis at Columbia University explored the work of this French soldier and essayist. He went on to publish two monographs on Evremond as well as many articles on the free-thinking libertins.

  • 2015 - Elizabeth Timberlake
  • 2014 - Jane Reagan
  • 2013 - Molly B. Newell
  • 2012 - Miranda Hoegberg
  • 2011 - Nicole Burkholder

Albert & Agnes Kuersteiner Memorial Prize

This award was established in 1980 by IU alumnae Ruth Kuersteiner Fink and Elsa Kuersteiner Martin in memory of their parents, Agnes Duncan Kuersteiner (IU class of 1907) and Dr. Albert Kuersteiner, who was Professor of French here from 1898 until his death in 1917. The award consists of French books selected by the Department and the student.

  • 2015 - Dana Vanderburgh
  • 2014 - Erik Troske
  • 2013 - Ava Dickerson
  • 2012 - David B. Bloom
  • 2011 - Maria B. Walker

John K. Hyde Award

John Kenneth Hyde received his PhD in French from Indiana University in 1965. He taught at Oberlin College 1962-67 until returning to IU as Professor of French from 1967 until his death in 1983. He was particularly interested in teaching French and Québécois civilization and culture, and also spent time developing the Department's business French class during the later years of his career. He served as faculty advisor for the French House and as Director of Graduate Studies. The John K. Hyde award was first given in 1985.

  • 2015 - Abigail Elston
  • 2014 - Arthur Masyuk
  • 2013 - Jacob Wycoff
  • 2012 - Kevin Gardner
  • 2011 - Sarah Chestnut
  • 2010 - Kimberly L. Long

Lander MacClintock Memorial Award

Lander MacClintock was Professor of both French and Italian in the Department from 1920 to his retirement in 1960. He received BA, MA, and PhD degrees from the University of Chicago, and his scholarly works and editions include The Age of Pirandello (1951), Sainte-Beuve's Critical Theory and Practice, and The Contemporary Drama of Italy. He was a life-long devotee of the arts and music, from his early days of touring with the San Carlos Opera Company to his organization of a special exhibit in conjunction with the Orchestre National of France performing on campus in 1948.

Most of our awards are specifically for undergraduate or graduate students, and specifically for achievement in French or Italian. However, the Lander MacClintock Award is given alternately to a French student and to an Italian student, and it can be awarded to either an undergraduate or a graduate student.

  • 2015 - Kassandra Chronis (undergraduate, French)
  • 2014 - Isabella Magni (graduate, Italian)
  • 2013 - Kathryn Bastin (graduate, French)
  • 2012 - Emanuela Pecchioli (graduate, Italian)
  • 2011 - Amandine Lorente-Lapole (graduate, French)

Phi Beta Kappa French Honor Society

  • 2014 - Thomas Bebekoski, Hayley Cannizzo, Victoria Eder, Adriana Giuliani, Timothy Hoffelder, Sara Swan