Indiana University Bloomington
Department of French and Italian

Italian Undergraduate Awards

Mario & Katrina Vangeli Undergraduate Awards

The Vangeli Awards were established by Professor Edoardo Lèbano and his wife Mary Vangeli Lèbano in 1989 to honor the memory of Captain Mario G. Vangeli, of the US Navy, Mary's father. He was a graduate of the US Naval Academy in Annapolis and later attended MIT where he earned a Masters Degree in Naval Architecture. After a distinguished Navy career including service in WWII, he became European President of Raytheon International. As of 2003, the awards also honor the memory of his wife, Katrina Vangeli.

  • 2013 - Mary Katherine Vaughn
  • 2012 - Rena Kingery
  • 2011 - Robert Bradley Smith
  • 2010 - Stephen Hiller
  • 2009 - Lindsay Hermecz

Mary V. Lèbano Memorial Award

This award was established by Professor Edoardo Lèbano to honor the memory of his wife Mary Vangeli Lèbano, who died on September 8, 2007. Mary, who studied and lived in Italy for extended periods of time, loved Italian language and culture and nourished a sincere interest in the progress made by her husband's students. She would be happy to know that the accomplishments of deserving students of Italian are recognized through this award.

  • 2013 - Abigail Silbert
  • 2012 - Jessica Wehr
  • 2011 - Nicolas Perfetti
  • 2010 - Elizabeth Swanger
  • 2009 - Kenna Daniel

Carol Ann Brush Hofstadter Memorial Scholarship

Carol Brush studied Italian and art history at Indiana University and in 1977 spent a summer in Bologna, Italy, through an IU exchange program. She adored Italy——its people, its culture, and its language——and nine years later returned there for the summer with her husband, IU professor Douglas Hofstadter. One day while dining in a Roman restaurant, they randomly ran into Edoardo Lèbano, Carol's favorite Italian professor, and had a great reunion. In 1993, motivated by their shared love for Italy, Carol and Doug chose to spend Doug's sabbatical year in Trento with their two young children, Danny and Monica, but after just three months there, Carol died very unexpectedly. Despite the tragedy, Doug and the children remained in Trento for the rest of the sabbatical year and as a consequence, Danny and Monica became fluent in Italian, —a gift from their mother. In the wake of Carol's death, her family and friends created a scholarship in her memory, so that more students could discover Bologna and learn to love it as she did.

  • 2013 - Blake Steiner, Naama Levy
  • 2012 - Margaret Uland, Kelsey Pepmeier, Brandon-Lee Dayton
  • 2011 - Nicolas Perrino, Sabrina Russello
  • 2010 - Margaret Bishop, Julia Meek
  • 2009 - Clare Rosenbalm, Robert Bradley Smith

Gamma Kappa Alpha Italian Honor Society

Gamma Kappa Alpha acknowledges superior scholastic performance in the field of Italian language, literature and culture, and is the only National Italian Honor Society in the United States and Canada.

  • 2013 - Susan Swanson
  • 2012 - Joseph Barnes, Mary Gazdziak, Nathan O'Connor, Rachel Schrage, Mary Vaughn
  • 2011 - Eva DeBoni, Michael Lockard, Samuel J. Park, Chaise Yarling
  • 2010 - Courtnie Clemens, Stephen Hiller, Mariella Stie, Mariela Colindres Garcia
  • 2009 - Anna M. Cox, Charlotte Kies, Michelle Miles, Nicole Phillips, Annie Walters