Indiana University
People  |  
The Gill Center for Biomolecular Science

Past Symposiums

2007 Gill Symposium and Award Ceremony

Click Here to view photos from the 2007 symposium.

Congratulations to the 2007 Gill Award recipient:

Richard W. Tsien Ph.D.
George D. Smith Professor
Department of Molecular and Cellular Physiology
Stanford University

The 2007 Young Investigator Award recipient:

Benjamin F. Cravatt, Ph.D.
Departments of Cell Biology and Chemistry,
Helen L. Dorris Child and Adolescent Neuro-Psychiatric Disorder Institute,
The Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology at The Scripps Research Institute

2007 Gill Symposium Schedule
Indiana Memorial Union
Bloomington , Indiana
May 23, 2007
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.

Lectures and award presentations held in Whittenberger Auditorium

9:00-9:05 a.m. Welcoming remarks by Indiana University President Adam W. Herbert

9:05-9:10 a.m. Opening remarks by Indiana University Interim Provost Michael A. McRobbie

9:10-9:15 a.m. Opening remarks by College of Arts and Sciences Dean Bennett Bertenthal

9:15-9:45 a.m. John M. Beggs, Indiana University Department of Physics, “Physics in the Brain.”

9:45-10:15 a.m. Theodore R. Cummins, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology and the Stark Neurosciences Research Institute, Indiana University School of Medicine, “Voltage-Gated Sodium Channels and the Molecular Basis of Pain.”

10:15-10:30 a.m. Break

10:30-10:45 a.m. Presentation of Young Investigator Award by J. Michael Walker.

10:45-11:30 a.m. Young Investigator Award Lecture by Benjamin F. Cravatt III, “The Enzymatic Regulation of Endocannabinoid Signaling and its Therapeutic Implications.”

11:30-2:00 p.m. Lunch and poster session in the Indiana Memorial Union Alumni Hall and Solarium (Please join us for a seated buffet lunch)

2:00-2:45 p.m. Jack M. Gill, Vanguard Venture Partners, “Collaboration of Science, Engineering, Medicine and Entrepreneurship.”

2:45-3:00 p.m. Presentation of 2007 Gill Award by Linda C. Gill, The Gill Foundation

3:00-4:00 p.m. 2007 Gill Award Lecture by Richard W. Tsien, “Regulation of Vesicle Fusion in Nerve Terminals.”

4:00-5:00 p.m. Reception in the Indiana Memorial Union Solarium for award recipients Richard W. Tsien and Benjamin F. Cravatt III