Assembly Representatives

Happy GPSO representatives at our September 2012 assembly meeting

The GPSO Assembly represents the entire Indiana University Bloomington graduate student population. The number of voting seats given to each department or program is determined by the level of enrollment during a bi-annual audit. Each department or program chooses how to elect or appoint their own GPSO representative(s).

For the GPSO Assembly handbook, constitution, and by-laws, please click here (PDF).

To view Assembly minutes and agendas, click here.

To download a presentation on parliamentary procedure, click here.

Note: All email addresses end with unless otherwise specified.

African American and African Diaspora Studies
Nana Amoah (namoa)

African Studies
Nicole Richard (richarnl)

American Studies
Caitlin Reynolds (caitreyn)

Sarah Monson (smonson)

Cameron Page (cjpage)

Liting Deng (litideng)

Biology PhD
Shelley Cook (smcook)

Biology Masters
No assigned representative

Business Masters
No assigned representative

Business – Accounting Masters
No assigned representative

Business – Finance Masters
No assigned representative

Business – Information Systems Masters
No assigned representative

Business – Marketing Masters
No assigned representative

Business – Management Masters
No assigned representative

Business PhD
Randy Minas (rminas)

Central Eurasian Studies
Cody Behles (cbehles)

Katheryne Leslie (
Jared Kafader (jkafader)
Benjamin Draper (beedrape)

Classical Studies
Emily Trygstad (etrygsta)

Cognitive Science
Emel Gencer (egencer)

Communication and Culture
Kathleen Deonis

Comparative Literature
Moustapha Ndour (mndour)

Criminal Justice
Alexa Sardina (asardina)

Diversity Council
Carl Darnell (darnellc)
Jordache Ellapen (jellapen)
Heather Montes Ireland (hireland)
Darlene González (darlgonz)

East Asian Language and Culture
Michael O’Connor (oconnomp)

No assigned representative

Education - Counseling and Educational Psychology
Rachel Peterson (rkpeters)

Education – Curriculum and Instruction
Dean Vesperman (dpvesper)

Education – Ed Leadership and Policy Studies
No assigned representative

Education – Higher Education and Student Affairs
Kala Grove (kalgrove)

Education – Instructional Systems Technology
Colin Gray (comgray)

Education – Language Education
Retno Hendryanti (rehendry)

Jessica George (jessgeor)
Mary Christian (chrismae)

Fine Arts – Art History Masters
Erin Hennessey (enhennes)

Fine Arts – Art History PhD
Jon Salvati 

Fine Arts – Studio Art Masters
No assigned representative

Folklore and Ethnomusicology
Dom Tartaglia (dptartag)

French and Italian
Loïc Lerme (llerme)

Gender Studies
Ariel Sincoff-Yedid (asincoff)

Amy Savener (savener)

Geological Sciences
Poonam Giri (pgiri)

Germanic Studies
Emma Kriss (ekriss)
Colin Grant (cojgrant)

Geoff Ralston (grralsto)

History and Philosophy of Science
Kate Grauvogel (kgrauvog)

HPER – Applied Health Science
Kristen Mark

HPER Masters in Athletic Administration
No assigned representative

HPER Masters in Kinesiology
No assigned representative

HPER Masters in Public Health
Devan Petersen (devkpete)

HPER Masters in Recreation, Parks, and Tourism Studies
Matt Ostermeyer (mosterme)

Informatics Masters
Vaibhav Garg (gargv)

Informatics Masters in Computer Science
No assigned representative

Informatics PhD
No assigned representative

Informatics PhD in Computer Science 
Nilesh Mahajan (nnmahaja)

International Center
No assigned representatives (5 seats)

A Jay Wagner (ajaywagn)

Latin American Studies
No assigned representative

Law – JD
Aleksandrina Pratt (apenkova)
Skyler Hutt0 (sbhutto)
Julianna Gjonaj (jgjonaj)
Melanie Sulkin (mesulkin)
Timothy Brown (timobrow)
Lauren Fletcher (laufletc)

Law – MA/Phd
No assigned representative

Joe Ducey (jducey)

No assigned representative

Music – Education
No assigned representative

Music – Music Theory
Matthew Boyle (mlboyle)

Music – Musicology
Matthew Leone

Music – Performance and Voice
No assigned representative

Katie Chapman (katechap)

Near Eastern Languages and Culture
No assigned representative

No assigned representative

Optometry OD
No assigned representatives (2 seats)

Optometry Vision Science
Wenlin Zhang (wenlzhan)

Noam Hoffer (yhoffer)

Brian Page (pagebs)

Political Science
Ryan Conway (rtconway)

Kathy Emerson (ktemerso)

Religious Studies
Emily Stratton (strattoe)

Russian and East European Studies
Josh Harris (harrijob)

Second Language Studies
Andrew Gleiser (apgleise)

Slavic Languages and Literatures
No assigned representative

SLIS – Information Science
Kristopher Baker (kcbaker)

SLIS – Library Science
Brittany Jones (jonebrit)
Jennifer St. Germain (jstgerma)

Gary Arave (garave)

Megan Taliaferro (metaliaf)

Spanish and Portuguese
Ian Michalski (imichals)

Alyssa Blades (agblades)

Angelo Bardales (afbardal)
Zach Bailey (zacbaile)
Andrew Bredeson (ajbredes)
Lauren Banina (lbanina)

Andy Cloran (acloran)
Owen Langman (olangman)

Speech and Hearing Masters
Emily Garl (eagarl)

Speech and Hearing PhD
Lisa Lenz (llenz)

Nicholas Matthews (nilmatth)

Theater and Drama
Joe Stollenwerk (jstollen)

Institute for European Studies
Katie Hammitt (khammitt)


GPSO HQ has moved!
We are now located in Kirkwood Hall, Suite 103.

The GPSO Office includes a small space with couches which is available for group meetings, work space, and two large offices.

Office Hours:
All officers available by appointment to

Meeting Space:
The GPSO office may be reserved for campus group meetings by emailing

Contact Us

Kirkwood Hall, Suite 103
Bloomington, IN 47405