Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington

Our Department was founded in 1960 by Ed Grant and the late N. R. Hanson and has been devoted to using a wide variety of historical and philosophical approaches to understand one of the most important conceptual and cultural enterprises of the modern world—science. We also have a long-standing tradition of teaching and research in the history and philosophy of medicine, and recently added "Medicine" to our name. We consider this tradition, and its integration with the history and philosophy of science, a vital and continuing part of our mission.

News & Events

The Bloomington HPSC Graduate Students Association is hosting a graduate conference on March 11-12. Key note speaker is Alice Dreger. More details here

On Feb. 14, Noretta Koertge will deliver "The Role of Scientific Virtues in Understanding and Teaching Research Ethics" at the 2016 Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

More »

HPSC Faculty Book