Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington

Awards and Honors

Graduate student Meagan Allen has been awards the 2019-2020 College of Arts and Sciences Dissertation Research Fellowship

Graduate student Suzanne Kawamleh has won the coveted Wells Graduate Fellowship for 2019-2020.  This is the most prestigious graduate fellowship in the university. The Wells requires both academic excellence and extraordinary service. More fully:  “visionary leadership, academic excellence, character, social consciousness, and generosity,” qualities for which Herman B Wells was renowned.

Amit Hagar Amit Hagar has been awarded The Nathan Shock Center Pilot Award for “Endurance Training and Alzheimer’s Disease Progression –Evidence and Mechanisms” in the total amount of $10,000 for the period of August 1, 2018 to July 31, 2019.

Graduate Student Klodian Coko has been awarded the Department's 2014/15 Hanson Prize, for best research paper, as well as the Thoren Award.

Amit Hagar Amit Hagar has received a 2015-16 Fulbright Scientific Mobility award to go to UFBA, Bahia, Brazil (32,000 US$). He has also received a 2015-16 Johnson Center for Entrepreneurship in Biotechnology Pilot Grant (22,000 US$).

William R. Newman William Newman has a Fellowship at the National Humanities Center and a Searle Fellowship at the Huntington Library in 2015/16.

Colin Allen Professor Colin Allen has been selected as the winner of the 2013 Barwise Prize of the American Philosophical Association.  The Barwise Prize recognizes significant and sustained contributions to areas relevant to philosophy and computing.  The prize serves to credit those within the philosophy profession for their lifelong efforts in this field.  The prize will be awarded during the prize reception at the 2013 APA Eastern Division meeting, December 28, 2013 at the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront.

William R. NewmanProf. William R. Newman will be receiving the American Chemical Society HIST Award on Sunday, September 8, 2013 at the ACS national meeting in Indianapolis. He, his collaborator Larry Principe, grad student Joel Klein and others will be presenting papers on the occasion.

Evan RaglandCongratulations to Evan Ragland, winner of 2012 Shryock Medal from the American Association for the History of Medicine. It is the second time in less than ten years that this prestigious award comes to our department!

Colin AllenColin Allen has been named Provost’s Professor.  The Provost’s Professorship recognizes faculty who have achieved local, national and international distinction in both teaching and research, and who display fruitful interactions between the two.  Previously known as the Chancellor’s Professor award since its creation in 1995, in 2009, the award was renamed to reflect a recent administrative reorganization on the Bloomington campus to Provost’s Professor.  These awards are supported by the generosity of IU Alumni, and over the years only 33 faculty members have earned the title.

Evan RaglandEvan Ragland is the winner of the 2011 Partington Prize, established by the Society for the History of Alchemy and Chemistry, awarded every three years for an original and unpublished essay on any aspect of the history of alchemy or chemistry.  Evan’s essay is titled: “Chymistry and Taste in the Seventeenth Century: Franciscus Dele Boë Sylvius as a Chymical Physician between Galenism and Cartesianism.”  The prize is awarded to junior scholars and is not restricted to graduate students; therefore receiving this international prize as a graduate student is an even more impressive achievement.  Evan has recently accepted a tenure-track position at the University of Alabama at Huntsville.

The Partington Prize was established by The Society for the History of Alchemy and Chemistry in memory of Professor James Riddick Partington, the Society’s first Chairman.  It is awarded every three years for an original and unpublished essay on any aspect of the history of alchemy or chemistry. 

Joel Klein Joel Klein was awarded a DAAD Research Grant (Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst) to work at the Max Planck and Freie Universität in Berlin this academic year.

Elisabeth LloydElisabeth Llyod's book The Case of the Female Orgasm: Bias in the Science of Evolution won the Women's Caucus Prize. Full Story »

Amit HagarAmit Hagar won the IU's Outstanding Junior Faculty Award for 2011

Campus - Sample GateGraduate student Joel Klein has received a Fulbright award and will be spending most of AY 2010-2011 in Halle at the Martin-Luther-Universität.

Colin AllenProf. Colin Allen has been selected for a Humboldt Research Award that will take him to Germany for most of 2010-2011. Upon return in Fall 2011, Allen will assume directorship of IU's Cognitive Science Program.

Amit HagarProf. Amit Hagar received an award of $222,000 from the NSF for a study of the "History & Philosophy of the Notion of Fundamental Length" which supports his current book project during 2010-2013. This follows a previous award for 2009-2010 of $144,000 from the NSF for "The Complexity of Noise: a Philosophical Outlook on Quantum Error Correction" to support research and a new course "Computers LTD" on the limits of computation.

Sander GliboffProf. Sander Gliboff received $116,213 from the NSF for his project on the German uptake of Darwinism. This one year award for 2009-2010 continues his work on two generations of biologists in Germany and Austria, foremost among them Ernst Haeckel, Richard Semon, Paul Kammerer, and Ludwig Plate.

Bill NewmanProf. Bill Newman received $523,359 from the NSF for "Chymistry of Isaac Newton: A Rigorous Analysis of the Language of Alchemy." This 3-year award for 2009-2012 contiunes work on the Chymistry of Isaac Newton" project.

Colin AllenProf. Colin Allen received $400,000 from the NEH for "InPhO @ Work". This 2 year award for 2009-2011 continues the Indiana Philosophy Ontology project.