Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington

Our Department was founded in 1960 by Ed Grant and the late N. R. Hanson and has been devoted to using a wide variety of historical and philosophical approaches to understand one of the most important conceptual and cultural enterprises of the modern world—science. We also have a long-standing tradition of teaching and research in the history and philosophy of medicine, and recently added "Medicine" to our name. We consider this tradition, and its integration with the history and philosophy of science, a vital and continuing part of our mission.

News & Events


1. to Collin Allen on his 3-year Templeton Grant on the Evolution of Human Cognition.
2. to Bill Newman on his NSF grant for the Newton Chemistry Project.
3. to Chris ChoGluck on winning the prestigious NSF Dissertation Fellowship.
4. to Klodian Coko for accepting an offer for a Post-Doctoral Fellowship (2016-17) at the Edelstein Center for HPS at Jerusalem
5. to Chris Stiso, a Master student, for accepting an offer for a PhD program at the University of Calgary

More »

HPSC Faculty Book