Indiana University
Herbert Presidential Scholars

Four-Year Scholarships for Indiana’s Top Students

Indiana University’s Adam W. Herbert Presidential Scholars Program offers Indiana’s top high school graduates four-year renewable scholarships to attend any of IU’s eight campuses* throughout the state. The Lilly Endowment is funding this program to support its vision to recruit and retain intellectual capital in Indiana. Up to 40 incoming Indiana University freshmen are designated Herbert Presidential Scholars each year.

IU President Michael A. McRobbie portrait “Herbert Presidential Scholars have ably demonstrated their overwhelming promise as among the highest achievers in their Indiana high school or home school experiences, and Indiana University, steeped in traditions of excellence, is the ideal place for them to continue their academic progress.”  
President Michael A. McRobbie, Indiana University

Following are key features of the program:

  • Nominees for the scholarship are selected from entering freshman students who are Indiana residents and who have been admitted to an IU campus. These students are nominated by the campus with notifications sent to recipients in mid February.
  • The four-year renewable scholarship is also matched by the sponsoring Indiana University campus.
  • Scholars receive other benefits, including a personal laptop computer and funding to be used for study abroad in their junior or senior year.
  • Herbert Presidential Scholars can choose any major offered at the campus that they are attending.
  • Scholarships are offered by individual campuses from their list of admitted students. Scholarships are not transferable between campuses.

Funding from the Lilly Endowment

The Herbert Presidential Scholars Program is funded by a $10 million grant from the Lilly Endowment and is administered by the IU Office of the Vice President for Diversity, Equity, and Multicultural Affairs. The program was created by IU President Emeritus Adam W. Herbert during his tenure at the university. Originally called the Hoosier Presidential Scholars Program, it was renamed in 2007 by the IU Board of Trustees to honor Herbert and his commitment to recruiting and retaining talented young Hoosiers.

“These students have the potential for high levels of success in their chosen professions. They will be Indiana's future leaders. Our mission is to give them an educational experience commensurate with their exceptional abilities.”

—President Emeritus Adam W. Herbert, Indiana University

Other Scholarship Programs

The Herbert Presidential Scholars Award is one of several major scholarship programs offered by IU, including the Wells Scholars Program and the Kelley Scholars Program on the Bloomington campus and the Bepko Scholars Program on the IUPUI campus. For more information about scholarships, see, select the campus you’re interested in, and find information in the section on financial aid and scholarships.

* Note: Students applying for admission to any of the following Indiana University campuses will be considered for Herbert Presidential Scholar Awards: IU Bloomington, IUPUI, IU East, IU Kokomo, IU Northwest, IU South Bend, and IU Southeast.

Revised: January 2012