Choose which site to search

Student Snapshots

We are proud to announce that Megan Kelly won the International Studies Capstone Scholar Award for her capstone thesis. Anna Garau was the runner-up.

Neeli Southwick, a senior majoring in International Studies, Criminal Justice, and Central Eurasian Studies, has been awarded a Boren Scholarship for study abroad through the Turkish Flagship Program.

Two International Studies seniors, Craig Skillman and Erik Troske, have been named Kate Hevner Mueller Award winners for 2016.

REEI has awarded FLAS scholarships to International Studies students Conner Clark and Erin Patterson.

International Studies BA/MA major Dana Vanderburgh was a dance ambassador with Movement Exchange in Metetí, Panama.

Alejandra Aguilar Perez, a senior double majoring in International Studies and Germanic Studies, was recognized as an alternate for a Gilman scholarship to study in Feiburg, Germany this spring. 

Congratulations to International Studies majors Katharine Adams & Maya Wilson-Fernandez, named 2015 Wells Scholars @IUBloomington

International Studies Senior Leslie Luna is currently interning with the US Department of State at the United States Diplomacy Center, a museum and educational center that will open in 2017.

Anna M. Williams, an International Studies alumna and IU graduate student, has been appointed to a two-year term as student trustee for Indiana University, beginning July 1.

Patrick Hernandez, Shelby Gullion, Catherine Krege, Anu Kumar, and Elizabeth Nixon at the 2015 Kate Hevner Mueller Outstanding Senior Awards Brunch.

Congratulations to the Spring 2015 Phi Beta Kappa inductees: Alex Buettner, Aldar Mijes Escamilla, Catherine Krege, Hannah Millner, Grace Ryan, Alejandra Alfaro Salmeron, Molly Zweig, and Hannah Wagner!

Shelby Gullion, Patrick Hernandez, Catherine Krege, Anu Kumar, Savannah Meslin and Elizabeth Nixon are the recipients of the 2015 KATE HEVNER MUELLER Outstanding Senior Award. Victoria Hicks and Molly Zweig received the 2015 ELVIS J. STAHR Distinguished Senior Award. Congratulations!

Congratulations to the Fall 2014 Phi Beta Kappa inductees: Ashton Dehahn, Brittany Doyle, Kelsey Lechner, and Emily Metallic!

International Studies alumna Angel Sanders featured in the Indianapolis Star. Sanders and her sisters overcame many challenges to graduate from Indiana University.

The ISUA Grant workshop was a success. You can see the photos of the events.

Congratulations to graduates Lila Raouf and Shane Sweet for receiving invitations to join the Peace Corps! (Photography: Victoria Kidwell)

Alumnus Victor Obasaju wrote this fantastic article in the Huffington Post, drawing from his own family's history into his thesis.

See our students present at the Spring 2014 Undergraduate Capstone Symposium.

International Studies seniors presented their research at the International Studies Undergraduate Capstone Symposium, on Wednesday, April 23, 2014, 4:30 p.m. - 8:30 p.m., Indiana Memorial Union. Senator Richard Lugar presented the keynote address and attended the student symposium and poster presentation. You can see the photos of the events here.

Congratulations to International Studies major Brittany Doyle, winner of the 2014 Sam Burgess Undergraduate Research Award for her research project, ”Sustainability of Assisted Voluntary Return,” which she wrote for her Advanced Topics in Diplomacy, Security, and Governance course taught by Professor Nick Cullather. Read the full article here.

2014 International Studies Undergraduate Capstone Symposium to take place at the IMU on Wednesday, April 23, 2014. Schedule of events can be found here.

Allison Yates has received the Provost's Award for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity for her project titled "Pragmatic Variation in Service Encounters in Argentine Spanish."

Congratulations to Tyler Bonnet and Molly Zweig for being awarded the Abel Scholarship!

Congratulations to Spring Phi Beta Kappa 2014 inductees Hayley Cannizzo, Benjamin Westfall, Kirsten Douglass, Allison Yates, Shannon Binford.

Fall 2013 Undergraduate Symposium was a success!

International Studies seniors presented their research at the International Studies Undergraduate Capstone Symposium, Thursday, April 25, 2013 5:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m., Indiana Memorial Union. You can see the photos of the symposium here.

Congratulations Phi Beta Kappa Fall 2013-2014 inductees Elizabeth Christine Shariat Panahi, Alyssa Melody Kelly, and Shannon Nicole Manley!

International Studies seniors presented their research at the International Studies Undergraduate Capstone Symposium, Thursday, April 25, 2013 5:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m., Indiana Memorial Union

Congratulations to AY 2013-2014 FLAS scholarships awardees Courtney Herman (Portuguese level 3) and Brian Fitzgerald (Arabic level 2)!

Phi Beta Kappa 2012-2013 inductees include:
Eleanor Berry, Rebecca Boyle, Ana Fumurescu, Kerry Hoffer, Kelsey Mize, Molly Newell, Nicholas Philip, Julia Strzeszkowski, and Mallory Thayer.

Congratulations to the INTLers included in the Fall 2012 Dean’s List!
Shaelin Adams, Jessica Austin, Keely Bakken, Kaitlyn Barker, Joseph Barnes, Brittany Belkiewitz, Kathryn Bennet, Eleanor Berry, Rebecca Boyle, Alex Buettner, Grace Burris, Brandon Campell, Robert Coatsworth, Ashton Dehahn, Kelsey DeWitt, Brittany Doyle, Valeria Fonseca, Rachelle Fullam, Ana Fumurescu, Shelby Gullion, Elizabeth Guthrie, Courtney Hermann, Kerry Hoffer, Kerri Iha, Grace Jaroscak, Jessica Johnson, Nicole Kaforski, Megan Kasler, Alyssa Kelly, Megan Kelly, Elen Kirby, Catherine Krege, Kelly Kreutz, Shannon Manley, William Mason, Caitlin Mccomb, Alley Murphy, Molly Newell, Elizabeth Nixon, Victor Obasaju, Clara O’Leary, Nicholas Philip, Erika Piquero, Lori Probasco, Alexandra Rice, Grace Ryan, Alejandra Salmeron, Ashik Shah, Zachary Stewart, Caroline Stokes, Emily Stowell, Julia Strzeszkowski, Ayseh Syed, Lillian Toumey, Erik Troske, Victoria Tudor, Hannah Wagner, Benjamin Westfall, Kylie Wilcer, Lana Wingham, and Molly Zweig