The 8th International Symposium on Macrocyclic and Supramolecular Chemistry (8-ISMSC) will be held in Arlington, Virginia. The location was selected to provide easy access to sightseeing in downtown Washington DC and in Virginia, its convenience to Washington National Airport and to the many amenities in Arlington. We are also pleased to coordinate with 12th International Conference on Calixarenes (Calix 12), which follows the ISMSC in St John’s, Canada.

The conference will be organized and hosted by Lyle Isaacs, Jeffery Davis of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University or Maryland and Amar Flood of the Department of Chemistry at Indiana University.

1st Meeting Circular
ISMSC Circular 1-1

Background Information

The ISMSC was born out of two earlier series of meetings, the International Symposium on Macrocyclic Chemistry (ISMC) and the International Symposium on Supramolecular Chemistry (ISSC). 

The ISMC series began in 1977, in Provo, Utah. It was founded by Reed M. Izatt and James J. Christensen. The ISSC series began in 1980, in Warsaw, Poland and was run every other year from then onwards. In 2006, the two meetings joined for a combined conference in Victoria, Canada. After this initial joint venture, the two meetings have been held together each year under the International Symposium on Macrocyclic and Supramolecular Chemistry (ISMSC) heading, in a different nation each time. 

The 8th International Symposium on Macrocyclic and Supramolecular Chemistry (8-ISMSC) will cover all aspects of macrocyclic and supramolecular chemistry. It will bridge the traditional core areas of chemistry and interface with the biological, nanotechnological and materials arenas. The meeting will include a mix of established and younger speakers and will offer the chance for students to present their work in the form of short oral presentations and posters. 

International Advisory Board
Eric V. Anslyn - University of Texas at Austin
Jerry L. Atwood - University of Missouri-Columbia
Sally A. Brooker - University of Otago
Jeffery T. Davis - University of Maryland
Amar H. Flood - Indiana University
Mitsuhiko Shionoya - University of Tokyo
Philip A. Gale - University of Southampton
Roger G. Harrison - Brigham Young University
Itaru Hamachi - Kyoto University
Lyle Isaacs - University of Maryland
Reed M. Izatt - Brigham Young University
Kate A. Jolliffe - University of Sydney
Roeland Nolte - University of Nijmegen
Alan E. Rowan - University of Nijmegen
Jonathan L. Sessler - University of Texas at Austin
Zhanting Li - Fudan University
Helma Wennemers - ETH

Izatt-Christensen Award
Congratulations to the 2013 Award Winner, Eric V. Anslyn

Professor Izatt and the late Professor Christensen conceived the International Symposia concept and organized the first five Symposia starting in 1977.

IBC Advanced Technologies, Inc., of American Fork, Utah, USA, is the sponsor of the award.

The winner will receive a monetary honorarium and financial assistance for travel expenses. This award is open to anyone working in the area of macrocyclic chemistry who has not received an international award of $25,000 USD or more.

A panel of five international macrocyclic chemists representing the sub-areas of the field selects the winner.

2013 Nomination Information

More information

Cram Lehn Pedersen Prize in Supramolecular Chemistry
Congratulations to the 2013 Prize Winner, Tomoki Ogoshi

The Cram Lehn Pedersen prize, named in honor of the winners of the 1987 Nobel Prize in chemistry, recognizes significant, original and independent work in the area of supramolecular chemistry.

ChemComm, a leader in publishing supramolecular chemistry research, sponsors the award.

Those who are within 10 years of receiving their PhD are eligible for the award. The winner will receive a monetary honorarium, free registration for the ISMSC meeting and give a lecture at the meeting as well as two additionally research presentations in the country where the meeting is held.

Persons wanting to be considered for the award, should send a CV, list of publications (divided into publications from PhD and post-doc and those from your independent work), and if desired a letter of nomination to Prof. Roger Harrison (ISMSC Secretary) at rgharris@chem.byu.edu by 31 January 2013.

2013 Nomination Information

More information

Related Links
ISMSC at Brigham Young University
5-ISMSC (Nara, Japan, 2010)
6-ISMSC (Brighton, UK, 2011)
7-ISMSC (Dunedin, New Zealand, 2012)
8-ISMSC (Arlington, USA, 2013)
9-ISMSC (Shanghai, China, 2014)