Madhusudan and Kiran C. Dhar India Studies Program

516 N. Fess Avenue, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47408-3842 812-855-5798 | india@indiana.edu

  • Faculty Members

     

    Rajendra Abhyankar*, SPEA rmabhyan@indiana.edu

    diplomacy in South Asia

     

    Majed Akhter*, Department of Geography maakhter@indiana.edu

    water development and security, state theory, Marxist political economy

     

    Keera Allendorf*, Department of Sociology kallendo@indiana.edu

    demography, family, health and gender in India and Nepal

     

    Ishan Ashutosh*, Department of Geography iashutos@indiana.edu

    South Asian diaspora/migrations, nationalism, postcolonial theory, urban geography, political geography

     

    Christopher I. Beckwith, Department of Central Eurasian Studies beckwith@indiana.edu

    East and Central Asian history and linguistics, Tokharian, Old Tibetan, Early Buddhism, Pyrrhonism, early Indic epigraphy

     

    Kelly H. Berkson*, Department of Linguistics, kberkson@indiana.edu

    Indic linguistics, Marathi phonetics/phonology, phonation-type contrasts, language endangerment & revitalization

     

    Purnima Bose*, Department of English pbose@indiana.edu

    globalization, corporations in public life, and anti-globalization resistance

     

    Judith Brown, Department of English jcb@indiana.edu

    modernist literature, culture, and aesthetics

     

    Kevin D. Brown, Maurer School of Law brownkd@indiana.edu

    race, law, and education

     

    Jamsheed Choksy*, Department of Central Eurasian Studies jchoksy@indiana.edu

    Iranian and Persian Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Indian Subcontinental Studies, Zoroastrianism, Islam, and Manichaeism

     

    J. Clancy Clements*, Department of Spanish and Portuguese clements@indiana.edu

    contact linguistics, pidgins and creoles, sociolinguistics, lexical semantics, functional syntax, morphology

     

    Michael S. Dodson*, Department of History msdodson@indiana.edu

    South Asian intellectual and cultural history, British imperial history, postcolonial theory, modernity and architecture

     

    Karen Farrell*, karsfarr@indiana.edu

    South Asia Librarian

     

    David Fidler, Maurer School of Law dfidler@indiana.edu

    international law, law and counterinsurgency, global health, and biosecurity

     

    Sumit Ganguly*, Department of Political Science sganguly@indiana.edu

    international relations and world politics, comparative politics, South Asian security, counterinsurgency and counterterrorism

     

    Nandini Gupta*, Kelley School of Business nagupta@indiana.edu

    corporate and international finance, political economy, and stock market liberalization

     

    David Haberman*, Department of Religious Studies dhaberma@indiana.edu

    South Asian religion, Indian arts and aesthetics, ritual studies, and religion and ecology

     

    Kevin Jaques, Department of Religious Studies rjaques@indiana.edu

    Islamic studies, medieval Islamic legal history, religious authority, and comparative religion

     

    Sreenivas Kamma, Kelley School of Business kamma@indiana.edu

    finance

     

    Jayanth Krishnan*, Maurer School of Law jkrishna@indiana.edu

    the legal profession, the behavior of lawyers, law-and-globalization, and legal education

     

    Paul Losensky*, Department of Central Eurasian Studies plosensk@indiana.edu

    Persian literature and literary history, Sufism and literature, translation and translation studies

     

    Pedro Machado*, Department of History pmachado@indiana.edu

    Indian Ocean history, world history, slavery and material culture, and merchant networks

     

    Rebecca Manring*, Department of Religious Studies rmanring@indiana.edu

    Sanskrit grammar, middle Bengali literature, hagiography, South Asian cinema

     

    Terrence Mason, School of Education tmason@indiana.edu

    education for democratic citizenship, global and international education, and teacher education programs and methods

     

    Richard Nance*, Department of Religious Studies rfnance@indiana.edu

    Indian and Tibetan Buddhism, commentarial rhetoric and practice, Buddhist philosophy in comparative perspective

     

    Radhika Parameswaran*, School of Journalism rparames@indiana.edu

    feminist cultural studies, gender and media globalization, South Asia, and postcolonial studies

     

    Steve Raymer*, School of Journalism sraymer@indiana.edu

    visual journalism, media ethics, and international newsgathering

     

    Ranu Samantrai, Department of English rsamantr@indiana.edu

    modern England, postcolonial diasporas, the arts of Black/Asian Britain

     

    Susan Seizer*, Department of Communication and Culture sseizer@indiana.edu

    humor cross-culturally, management of social stigma, and performance in South Asia (live and mediated).

     

    Ron Sela*, Department of Central Eurasian Studies rsela@indiana.edu

    history and historiography of Islamic Central Asia , political and cultural self-representation in Central Asian sources

     

    Pravina Shukla*, Department of Folklore pravina@indiana.edu

    folk art and material culture, body art, dress and costume, museum studies, food art and culture, India, Brazil, and the United States

     

    Kashika Singh*, Lecturer in Hindi/Urdu kashsing@indiana.edu

     

    Elliot Sperling*, Department of Central Eurasian Studies sperlin@indiana.edu

    Tibetan history, Indo-Tibetan relations, culturally Tibetan populations within India

     

    Samrat Upadhyay*, Department of English supadhya@indiana.edu

    South Asia and fiction writing

     

    Munirpallam Venkataramanan, Kelley School of Business venkatar@indiana.edu

    technology management, decision support systems, supply chain management, computer simulation, enterprise resource planning

     

    Arvind Verma*, Department of Criminal Justice averma@indiana.edu

    policing, criminal justice issues of India, computational criminology

     

    John Walbridge*, Department of Near Eastern Languages and Cultures jwalbrid@indiana.edu

    Islamic philosophy, Islamic intellectual history, emphasis on the cultural role of philosophy and science, Baha'i studies, Islamic studies and history

     

    Andrea Wiley*, Department of Anthropology wileya@indiana.edu

    human diet and nutrition, human adaptability, human health and disease, maternal and infant health, demography, fertility and mortality

     

    * indicates a member of the Dhar India Studies faculty with 'core faculty' voting rights within the program's governance structure.

     

    ‚ÄčBack to Main