Skip to main content

Hutton Honors College

 — Indiana University

Majority of IUB Honors Awards go to HHC students. Again.

During 2011-12 Hutton Honors College students garnered many awards.

Kasey Greer, a senior majoring in history, received a 2012 Beinecke Scholarship. This program encourages and enables highly motivated students to pursue graduate study in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Since 1975, more than 450 college juniors have received support during graduate study at numerous accredited universities. Each Beinecke Scholar receives $4,000 immediately before entering graduate school and an additional $30,000 while attending graduate school. See Greer's story here.

Alicia Nieves, a junior majoring in political science and human migration studies through the Individualized Major Program, received a 2012 Truman Scholarship. The scholarship provides up to $30,000 in funding for graduate-level education in fields related to public service. The program is extremely competitive, with the Truman Scholarship Foundation reviewing more than 600 nominations each year. Nieves is one of 54 scholars from 48 states in 2012. Details.

John R. Brown, a mathematics and English major, received the 2012 Gates Cambridge Scholarship. Established in 2000 by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, this is a highly competitive, full-cost scholarship awarded to outstanding applicants from outside the United Kingdom. Gates Scholars pursue a full-time graduate degree in any subject available at the University of Cambridge. More.

Miles Edwards, a junior majoring in music and mathematics, earned a 2012 Goldwater Scholarship-the most prestigious award in the U.S. conferred upon undergraduates studying the sciences. Miles is planning to earn bachelor's degrees in cello performance from the Jacobs School of Music and in mathematics from the College of Arts and Sciences. As a freshman, Miles scored in the top 20 students nationally, out of more than 4,000 undergraduates, in the prestigious William Lowell Putnam Mathematical Competition. The Goldwater Program was established by Congress to honor longtime Sen. Barry Goldwater of Arizona, who died in 1998. The scholarships provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers by supporting college students planning scientific careers.

Madalyn Lee Parnas, a graduate student studying violin performance, Miles Taylor, a senior in political science and the Individualized Major Program, and Elizabeth Ogonek '09 received 2012 Marshall Scholarships. Read about them here.

HHC students also received several prestigious campus awards.

Mikaela Shaw, a senior majoring in history and economics with a minor in Spanish, received the 57th Herman B Wells Senior Recognition Award. Established in 1962 and named for the university's 11th president and, later, university chancellor, the award recognizes excellence in academic growth, achievement, leadership and participation in campus activities.

Five Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Awards went to HHC students. The Elvis J. Stahr Distinguished Senior Award was established in 1966 by Stahr, IU's 12th president. The annual award honors three to five seniors who have excelled academically while serving as active student leaders. The names of the recipients are added to a permanent plaque that hangs in the Indiana Memorial Union. The recipients were Hena Sara Ahmed, who majored in neuroscience and chemistry with minors in biology and Spanish; Aaron Barnes, who majored in marketing; Justin Kingsolver, who majored in international studies and political science; Alexandra Moxley, who majored in biology; and Ronak Shah, who majored in cognitive science with minors in Spanish and criminal justice.

HHC students also received Provost's Awards for Undergraduate Research and Creative Activity. The award recognizes outstanding undergraduate achievement and originality. It also recognizes the faculty members who mentor the awardees, encouraging and guiding them and engaging them in the learning process.

The HHC recipients and their mentors, listed in parentheses, were Russell Conard (David Crandall), an informatics major with a minor in sociology; Karissa McKelvey (Filippo Menczer), a computer science and political science major; Kate Sanders (Peter Todd), an English major; Juliet Stanton (Robert Botne), a linguistics major with a minor in French; and Tarlise Townsend (Benjamin Robinson), a Germanic studies major with minors in mathematics and biology. See complete story here.

Return to Newsletter Homepage