Skip to main content

Hutton Honors College

 — Indiana University

The Beinecke Scholarship Program
A Program of the Sperry Fund

IU Deadline: January 17, 2014

National Deadline: February 21, 2014

The Beinecke Scholarship is for graduate study in the arts, humanities and social sciences. This program encourages highly motivated students to pursue opportunities available to them and to be courageous in the selection of a graduate course of study. Each scholar receives $4,000 immediately prior to entering graduate school and an additional $30,000 while attending graduate school. There are no geographic restrictions on the use of the scholarship, and recipients are allowed to supplement the award with other scholarships, assistantships and research grants. Scholars are encouraged to begin graduate study immediately following the undergraduate studies. However, the award must be utilized within 5 years of completion of undergraduate studies. For additional information and scholarship conditions see

To be eligible for consideration a student must:

Be enrolled full-time as a college junior pursuing a bachelor's degree during the 2013-2014 academic year. "Junior" means a student who plans to continue full-time undergraduate study and who expects to receive a baccalaureate degree between December 2014 and August 2015.

Plan to enter a master's or doctoral program in the arts, humanities or social sciences. Students in the social sciences who plan to pursue graduate study in neuroscience should not apply for a Beinecke Scholarship.

Demonstrate superior standards of intellectual ability, scholastic achievement and personal promise during his or her undergraduate career

Be a United States citizen or a United States national from American Samoa or the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Have a documented history of receiving need-based financial aid during his or her undergraduate years
(The student will need to complete a Financial Data Sheet certifying the student meets the need criteria.)

Each college or university may nominate only one candidate for the national competition. To be considered for selection as IU-B's candidate, eligible students must complete and submit a nomination package. Please send your completed application materials to Elaine Hehner at the Hutton Honors College, 811 E. Seventh Street, Room 210E.

The candidate should submit:

• A Financial Data Sheet to be completed by the student and certified by a financial aid officer stating that the student qualifies for need-based financial aid
• A completed Application Form
• A Personal Statement of 1000 words or less
• Three letters of recommendation
• An official copy of the nominee's transcript
• A current resume
• Other material considered directly relevant to the nominee's application

IU Beinecke Brothers Memorial Scholarship Winners

2013 - Nathaniel Sims, linguistics, East Asian languages and cultures
2012 - Kasey Greer, history, LAMP
2011 - Kip Hutchins, linguistics, folklore, ethnomusicology
2009 - Elizabeth Ogonek, music composition
2008 - Paula Dias, anthropology, French
2007 - Abigail Scott, linguistics, German
2003 - Jessica M. Sisk, Latin, classical civilization
1999 - Jennifer Beyer, history, classical civilization
1977 - Paul A Miller