Skip to main content

Hutton Honors College

 — Indiana University

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

and Excellence in Education Program

IU Deadline: December 4

National Deadline: January 29

(The IU and national deadlines usually occur about the same time each year. Check this Web site from time to time for updates in information.)

Established by legislation in 1986, the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship encourages students to pursue careers in natural sciences (Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science, Geology, Physics), Mathematics and Engineering. Note: It is not clear if The Foundation considers majors in Cognitive Science or Neuroscience eligible for this award. Please speak with the faculty members who would write your letters of recommendation to clarify. Each scholarship covers tuition, fees, books, and room and board, up to a maximum of $7,500. Current juniors are eligible for one year of support; current sophomores are eligible for 2 years support.

Candidates must:

  • Receive a nomination by his/her accredited four year institution
  • Be a current sophomore or junior
  • Be a United States Citizen, resident alien or U.S. national
Successful nominees have had College GPAs of 3.900 or higher.

Application/Nomination Process: The Goldwater Foundation does NOT accept direct student applications for this award; students must be nominated to the College of Arts and Sciences by a faculty member. The College holds an internal competition to select nominees for the national Goldwater competition and The Foundation selects approximately 300 winners each year from all over the United States.

All materials, (some electronic, some on paper), must be received by the College of Arts and Sciences by Friday, Dec. 4, 2009 at 4:00 p.m. Contact Ms. Lynn Keller,, 812.856.0827, Kirkwood Hall 104 or Terri A. Greenslade, Assistant Dean for Academic Standards and Opportunities,; 812.855.8245, Kirkwood Hall 012.

For additional information on the IU nomination process, see

For additional information on the Goldwater Scholarship, see

IU Barry M. Goldwater Scholarhip Recipients

2010 - Carlo Angiuli (mathematics)
2010 - Erika Anderson (biology)
2010 - Christopher Faesi (physics, mathematics, astronomy/astrophysics)
2010 - Jennifer Kulow (astronomy)
2009 - Kaleb Naegeli (biology)
2009 - Ellen Weinzapfel (biology)
2008 - Livia Wilz (biochemistry)
2008 - Yun William Yu (chemistry, Germanic studies, mathematics)
2007 - Aaron DeLoughery (biology)
2007 - Sibo Lin (chemistry)
2006 - Elizabeth Adams (astronomy, astrophysics, mathematics)
2006 - Robert Koffie (physics, biochemistry, mathematics)
2004 - Stephen Helms (biochemistry, biology)
2004 - Keith Turpin (physics, mathematics)
2003 - Samantha Herbst (biology)
2002 - David E. Larson (biology)
2000 - Laura J. Hainline (astronomy, astrophysics)
1999 - Karyn B. Baker (mathematics)
1999 - Matthew Shepherd (physics, computer science)
1998 - Jennifer Sprague (biochemistry, psychology)
1998 - Megan Sullivan (biology, psychology)
1997 - Mark Meiss (computer science)
1997 - Neeraj Surana (biochemistry, biology)
1997 - Mark Wortinger (microbiology)
1995 - Eric Levens (biology)
1994 - Denise Dorman
1993 - Zachary Ziliak
1992 - Karen Dorman
1992 - Samuel Johnson
1991 - Theresa Borrowman
1989 - Denise Yoder
1989 - Eyal Barash