Skip to main content

Hutton Honors College

 — Indiana University

British Marshall Graduate Scholarship

IU Deadline: Friday, September 5, 2014

IU Nomination Interviews: Friday, September 12, 2014

National Deadline: October 1, 2014

The Marshall Scholarships are designed to foster good relations between the United Kingdom and the United States. These awards allow distinguished American students to experience the British way of life and to develop a better understanding and appreciation of British values. Each year up to 40 scholars are selected to study at the graduate level at almost any university in the United Kingdom. The scholarship is for one to three years of graduate study; up to 8 of the 40 scholarships may be awarded to students who seek to do a one-year degree only. Please visit the Marshall Scholarship Web page for more information.

Come to one of the information sessions scheduled at the Hutton Honors College, 811 E. Seventh Street on Friday, Aug. 29, from 1:30 to 3:00 p.m.

For information about the EPA Marshall Scholarships (these support environment-related research), see IU information and national EPA Marshall information

To be considered by the Marshall selectors, an applicant must be endorsed by his or her undergraduate or graduate institution.

To receive IU's endorsement, an applicant must follow the procedure outlined below. The IU committee strongly encourages students who are interested in the Marshall to begin working on their applications and talking with potential referees as soon as possible. Students should work on their applications during the spring and summer of the year of application, well in advance of the IU deadline.

If you have any questions regarding the scholarship or possible programs of study, please contact Trevor R. Brown, the chair of the nominating committee, or Paul Fogleman, 811 E. Seventh Street, 812-855-3948,

To be eligible, an applicant must

  • be a U.S. citizen
  • hold a bachelor's degree from a four-year college or university in the United States by fall of the year in which the Marshall Scholar begins studying in the United Kingdom
  • have an undergraduate GPA of at least 3.70
  • have graduated from his/her first undergraduate college or university after April 2013 and not have studied for or hold a degree or equivalent qualification from a British university
  • Marshall Scholars may pursue any field of study offered in the U.K. for which they have the necessary preparation. See the Marshall Web site for additional eligibility requirements.

    IU Application Process

    IU administers a single application and nomination process for the Rhodes, Marshall, Mitchell and Churchill Scholarships. An applicant for one or more of these scholarships submits one application to the IU Nominating Committee.

    Your application should include

    1. Three statements with the following information:
    a) personal statement: Describe the academic and other interests and pursuits that have had the greatest influence on your academic and career ambitions (no more than 750 words);
    b) reasons for studying in the UK and/or Ireland: Explain why you want to study in the United Kingdom and/or the Republic of Ireland and how you think this experience will benefit you in the future (no more than 500 words);
    c) proposed academic program: Describe your proposed academic program, giving reasons for your choice and for your preferred university (no more than 500 words). If you are proposing to pursue a research degree, you should outline the research you wish to undertake.

    2. A list of your activities and honors while in college, including prizes, scholarships, offices held, and extracurricular interests In addition, you should arrange to have

    3. Three references that comment on your work and accomplishments sent directly to Paul Fogleman at the address below. At least two of the references must be from faculty and at least one must be from someone familiar with your extracurricular leadership and activity. References will be confidential and will be used only for Nominating Committee's procedures.

    Submit all items electronically by 5PM on Friday, September 5, 2014.

    Paul Fogleman
    Hutton Honors College
    811 E. Seventh St.
    Indiana University
    Bloomington, IN 47405

    IU Nomination Procedure

    Committee members will assist the nominees with further preparation of their applications for the national competition. Please visit the Marshall Scholarship website for detailed information regarding the Marshall Scholarship competition.

    IU Marshall Scholarship Winners
    (Awarded previous year)

    2012 - Elizabeth Ogonek
    2012 - Madalyn Parnas
    2012 - Miles Taylor
    2009 - Yun William Yu
    2008 - Jenna Sherry
    2004 - Rebecca Homkes
    1998 - Michael Pacold
    1997 - Elizabeth Skomp
    1997 - Van Huynh
    1996 - David Ginger
    1995 - Denise (Nijsje) Dorman
    1995 - Sarah Ferrario
    1995 - Mark Schneider
    1983 - John Watkins
    1976 - Paul Tash
    1967 - Carl Cowen
    1965 - Linda Utz

    awarded previous year