Skip to main content

Hutton Honors College

 — Indiana University

Mitchell Scholarship

For Graduate Study in Ireland

IU Deadline: Friday, September 5, 2014

IU Nomination Interviews: Friday, September 12, 2014

National Deadline: Wednesday, October 1, 2014

The Mitchell Scholarship, sponsored by the US-Ireland Alliance, was established to honor former Senator George J. Mitchell for his pivotal contribution to the peace process in Northern Ireland. The scholarship is designed to familiarize and engage the next generation of American leaders with the island of Ireland, while recognizing and fostering intellectual achievement, leadership, and a commitment to public service and community.

Come to one of the information sessions scheduled at the Hutton Honors College, 811 E. Seventh Street on Friday, Aug. 29, from 1:30 to 3:00 p.m.

The Mitchell Scholarship provides support for one academic year of postgraduate study at institutions of higher learning in Ireland, including the seven universities in the Republic of Ireland and the two universities in Northern Ireland. Students must have a record of intellectual distinction, leadership, and extracurricular activity, as well as personal characteristics of honesty, integrity, fairness, and unselfish service to others that indicate a potential for leadership and contribution to society. Students may consider any field offered at these universities for which they are prepared. For further information please visit

To be considered by the national Mitchell selectors, an applicant who is currently a full-time student must be endorsed by his or her undergraduate or graduate institution. Go here for additional details. To receive IU's endorsement, an applicant must follow the procedure outlined below.

If you have any questions regarding the scholarship or possible programs of study, please contact Trevor R. Brown, chair of the nominating committee, or Paul Fogleman, Hutton Honors College, 811 E. Seventh Street, 812-855-3948,

To be eligible, an applicant must
  • be a U.S. citizen
  • hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university before beginning study as a Mitchell Scholar
  • have a minimum GPA of 3.70
  • be 18-29 years of age on September 30, 2014

IU Application Process

IU administers a single application and nomination process for the Rhodes, Marshall, Mitchell and Churchill Scholarships. An applicant for one or more of these scholarships submits one application to the IU Nominating Committee.

Your application should include

1. Three statements with the following information:
a) personal statement: Describe the academic and other interests and pursuits that have had the greatest influence on your academic and career ambitions (no more than 750 words);
b) reasons for studying in the UK and/or Ireland: Explain why you want to study in the United Kingdom and/or the Republic of Ireland and how you think this experience will benefit you in the future (no more than 500 words);
c) proposed academic program: Describe your proposed academic program, giving reasons for your choice and for your preferred university (no more than 500 words). If you are proposing to pursue a research degree, you should outline the research you wish to undertake.

2. A list of your activities and honors while in college, including prizes, scholarships, offices held, and extracurricular interests

In addition, you should arrange to have

3. Three references that comment on your work and accomplishments sent by your referees directly to Paul Fogleman at the address below. At least two of the references must be from faculty and at least one must be from someone familiar with your extracurricular leadership and activity. References will be confidential and will be used only for nominating procedures.

Submit all items electronically by 5PM on Friday, September 5, 2014.

Paul Fogleman
Hutton Honors College
811 E. Seventh St.
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN 47408

IU Mitchell Scholarship Winners
(Awarded previous year)
2006 - Kathleen Claussen
2004 - R. Paul Musgrave
2002 - Emily Mark
2001 - Elisabeth Yu