Skip to main content

Hutton Honors College

 — Indiana University

The Rhodes Scholarship

for Graduate Study at Oxford University

IU Deadline: Friday, September 5, 2014

IU Nomination Interviews: Friday, Sept. 12, 2014

National Deadline: October 1, 2014

The IU and national deadlines usually occur about the same time each year. Check this website from time to time for updates in information for next year's competition.

The Rhodes Scholarship has been awarded since 1902 to outstanding students from around the world. This scholarship is intended for students of intellectual achievement, integrity, leadership, energy, and concern for others. All fields of study are considered although the proposed course of study must be available at Oxford University. For further information about the scholarship and courses of study please visit

Come to one of the information sessions scheduled at the Hutton Honors College, 811 E. Seventh Street on Friday, Aug. 29, from 1:30 to 3:00 p.m.

To be considered by the Rhodes selectors, an applicant must be endorsed by his or her undergraduate or graduate institution. Go here for additional details. To receive IU's endorsement, an applicant must follow the procedure outlined below.

The IU committee strongly encourages students who are interested in the Rhodes to begin working on their applications and talking with potential referees as soon as possible. Students should work on their applications during the spring and summer of the year of applications, well in advance of the IU deadline.

If you have any questions regarding the scholarship or possible programs of study, please contact Trevor R. Brown, the chair of the nominating committee, or Paul Fogelman, Hutton Honors College, 811 E. Seventh St., Bloomington, IN 47405,

To be eligible for nomination by IU, the applicant must
  • be a U.S. citizen
  • have achieved academic standing sufficiently advanced to assure completion of a bachelor's degree before October 1, 2015
  • be 18-23 years of age on October 1 of the year in which he or she is applying

The IU committee requires that candidates have a GPA of at least 3.70

IU Application Process

IU administers a single application and nomination process for the Rhodes, Marshall, Mitchell, and Churchill Scholarships. An applicant for one or more of these scholarships submits one application to the IU Nominating Committee. The committee will invite short-listed candidates to required interviews.

Your application should include

1. Three statements with the following information:
a) Personal statement: Describe the academic and other interests and pursuits that have had the greatest influence on your academic and career ambitions (no more than 750 words);
b) Reasons for studying in the UK and/or Ireland: Explain why you want to study in the United Kingdom and/or the Republic of Ireland and how you think this experience will benefit you in the future (no more than 500 words);
c) proposed Proposed academic program: Describe your proposed academic program, giving reasons for your choice and for your preferred university (no more than 500 words). If you are proposing to pursue a research degree, you should outline the research you wish to undertake.

2. A list of your activities and honors while in college, including prizes, scholarships, offices held, and extracurricular interests.

In addition, you should arrange to have

3. Three references that comment on your work and accomplishments sent by your referees directly to Paul Fogleman at the address below. At least two of the references must be from faculty and at least one must be from someone familiar with your extracurricular leadership and activity. References will be confidential and will be used only for Nominating Committee's procedures.

Submit all items electronically by 5PM on Friday, September 5, 2014.

Paul Fogleman
Hutton Honors College
811 E. Seventh St.
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN 47405

IU Nomination Procedure

Please visit the Rhodes Scholarship website for detailed information regarding the Rhodes Scholarship competition.

IU Rhodes Scholarship Winners
(Awarded previous year)

2011 - Esther Uduehi
2010 - Mutsa Mutembwa
2003 - Kathleen Diem-Anh Tran
2001 - Raju Raval
1994 - Zachary J. Ziliak
1985 - Joel N. Thomas-Adams
1983 - Barbara J. Toman
1970 - William H. Wolfe
1964 - Stephen Kendall Smith
1953 - Joseph B. Board, Jr.
1928 - Harlan Logan
1925 - Philip Blair Rice
1920 - Ernest K. Lindley
1919 - Ernest Roscoe Baltzell
1913 - Richard Harvey Simpson
1905 - Frank Aydelotte