Skip to main content

Hutton Honors College

 — Indiana University

Many Worlds, One Globe

On the occasion of our 50th anniversary, the Hutton Honors College is sponsoring Many Worlds, One Globe, a multi-year theme that addresses research and extracurricular activities, as well as pedagogical initiatives (including funds for the development of courses with an integrated international component). This comprehensive topic reflects the wishes of Edward L. Hutton, who was an enthusiastic advocate of the importance of international experience in the education of IU students, and recognizes one of the primary themes of the IU 2020 Bicentennial.The contrastive nature of the theme stresses the paradox of the current times, caused by the universal access to information (which makes us feel part of a global dimension) and the innate feeling to belong to specific roots, with a strong identity and autonomy.

Many Worlds, because we live in a multifaceted, multicultural, and multilingual world; because individual drive is a necessary ingredient to achieve success in any field; and because without the respect for individual intelligences, different cultures, beliefs, and ways of life, we rarely accomplish any high achievement.

One Globe, because technology, social media, the economy, and the international common policies that aim at improving everyone's and the planet's well-being, can and should help embrace all our vital and individual differences, and transform them into a global commodity.

For more information about IU Bloomington's respect for international rights and diverse cultures, lifestyles, and beliefs, please see the message by Provost Lauren Robel.

Upcoming Events:

Irshad Manji
A Conversation with Irshad Manji
4 p.m. Oct. 2, 2017
Oak Room, Indiana Memorial Union
Irshad Manji, author of The Trouble with Islam Today: A Muslim's Call for Reform in Her Faith and founder of the Moral Courage Project, will participate in a moderated conversation about her work.

Speaker Archive:

2017     Sarah Koenig and Julie Snyder
2017     Ben Rhodes
2017     Kay Redfield Jamison
2016     Jhumpa Lahiri