Skip to main content

Hutton Honors College

 — Indiana University

Other News Stories...

April 7, 2014

HHC Students Named 2014 Goldwater Scholars

Three HHC students at Indiana University Bloomington have been named 2014 Goldwater Scholars, an award for promising undergraduates studying math, science or engineering.

They are among 283 U.S. college juniors and sophomores to receive the scholarships, presented by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. Scholars were selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,166 students nominated by college and university faculties.

The scholarships are for one or two years and can be used to pay the cost of tuition, fees, books, and room and board to a maximum of $7,500 per year.

Indiana University Goldwater Scholars are: Emma Winkler(above left), an IU Bloomington junior from Bloomington, Ind., majoring in biochemistry and microbiology. Her goals are to conduct research in human disease and apply the research to drug discovery and treatment development; Christian Rochford Hayes(above center), an IU Bloomington junior from Kokomo, Ind., majoring in astronomy and physics. Hayes' career goals include conducting research in galactic astronomy and teaching at a university; and Radhika Agarwal(above right), an IU Bloomington junior from Carmel, Ind., majoring in biochemistry and biology. Agarwal's career goals include conducting research in bacterial antibiotic resistance and biofilm formation and teaching medical students.

The Goldwater Scholars program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Barry Goldwater, the late U.S. senator from Arizona. It has bestowed 7,163 scholarships worth about $46 million. Recent Goldwater Scholars have been awarded 80 Rhodes Scholarships, 117 Marshall Awards, 112 Churchill Awards and numerous other scholarships and fellowships.

Other News Stories...