Indiana University Bloomington

Current Graduate Students

Addie Anderson
Field: Slavic Literature
Interests: Early 19th Century Russian prose; Rise of the Russian novel; Russian short stories; Crime/Detective fiction
Email address:addmande@indiana.edu

Rebecca Baumgartner
Field: Slavic Literature
Email address: reabaumg@indiana.edu

Katherine Berry
Field: Slavic Literature
Interests: Gender and sexuality in 19th-20th Century Russian and Czech literature. Chekhov.
Email address:kapicker@indiana.edu

Bethany A. Braley
Field: Slavic Literatures (Russian and Polish)
Interests: Early 20th century poetry (Silver Age; Young Poland); Russian influence on literatures of the Soviet satellite states; East European film; Orthodoxy in Russian literature
E-mail address: bbraley@indiana.edu

Rosemarie Connolly
Field: Slavic Linguistics
Interests: formal syntactic theory, clitics, reflexives, and reciprocals, specifically as they relate to Polish.
Email address:rlconnol@indiana.edu

Matthew Daigle
Field: Language and Area Studies
Interests: Second language aquisition and pedagogy.
Email address:mmdaigle@indiana.edu

Rachael Daum
Field: Slavic Literature
Interests: Soviet literature, film, and art; Russian and German literary translation; Soviet cartoons; and madness in Russian literature.
Email address:rcdaum@indiana.edu

Elena Doludenko
Field: Slavic Linguistics
Interests: morphology and syntax, second language aquisition and pedagogy, Czech studies.
Email address:elendolu@indiana.edu

Amanda Fisher
Field: Slavic Literature
Interests: Russian and Polish Literature; dissident Soviet and post-Soviet literature; Central and East European film, nostalgia and utopia, post-Modernism, and short stories.
Email address:fisherac@indiana.edu

Christopher Franz
Field: Slavic Linguistics
Email address:cmfranz@indiana.edu

Alexander Grapp
Field: Russian Literature
Interests: Comparative literature and literary translation
Email address:awgrapp@indiana.edu

Brigid Henry
Field: Slavic Linguistics
E-mail address:bs23@indiana.edu

Jordan Hussey-Andersen
Field: Slavic Liinquistics
Email address:jehussey@indiana.edu

Lina Khawaldah
Field: Russian Literature
Interests: 19th and 20th century Russian prose, South Slavic literatures, East European cinema, literary theory, literary translation
E-mail address:lkhawald@indiana.edu

Natalie Misteravich
Field: Polish literature
Interests: Polish literature, film, and culture
Email address:nmistera@indiana.edu

Magdalena Mullek
Field: Slavic Literatures (Russian, Czech, Slovak)
Interests: Literary translation, Postmodernism, contemporary Slovak and Czech literature, language pedagogy
E-mail address: mmullek@indinana.edu

Brian Oches
Field: Russian Literature
Interests: 19th Century Russian Literature, 19th Century European Literature, Nabokov, Croatian
Email address:boches@indiana.edu

Brittany Penzer
Field: Slavic Literature
Interests: film adaptations of literature, Russian and East European Film, Balkan studies, comparative cinema, literary translation, film adaptation as a form of translation, emigre literature, Vladimir Nabakov, Roma studies
Email address:bpenzer@indiana.edu

Heather Rice
Field: Slavic Linguistics
Interests: second language acquisition of Russian phonology
E-mail address:hrrice@indiana.edu

Ala Simonchyk
Field: Slavic Linguistics
Interests: Second language phonology, American-accented Russian, teaching pronunciation
Email address:alisimon@indiana.edu

Veronika Trotter
Field: Slavic Linguistics
Interests: second and heritage language acquisition and pedagogy, language processing, Hungarian studies.
Email address:veboikov@indiana.edu

Melissa Witcombe
Field: Slavic Linguistics
Interests: synchronic and diachronic phonology, phonetics, Russian, BCS, Slovene
E-mail address:mwitcomb@indiana.edu

Ksenia Zanon
Field: Slavic Linguistics
Dissertation topic: "On Hybrid Coordination"
Interests: Syntax, Russian, South Slavic, Polish, Turkic languages, language pedagogy.
E-mail address:kzanon@indiana.edu