Skip to main content
Indiana University Bloomington
  • People
  •  
  •  

 

Faculty & Staff

The highly accomplished Jewish Studies faculty specializes in ancient Judaism, Yiddish and East European Jewish culture, Jewish culture in Muslim countries, Hebrew language and literature, and Holocaust Studies, among many other areas of inquiry.

The Robert A. and Sandra S. Borns Jewish Studies Program at Indiana University is an interdepartmental program. Our faculty are housed in various departments — approaching Jewish culture from a variety of different disciplinary perspectives — anthropology, history, literature, linguistics, philosophy, political science, religious studies, and others. Our faculty is distinguished both by its cutting-edge scholarship and by its commitment to providing students with an outstanding education.

Faculty Vacancy Notices and faculty applications are posted on this site. More »

Interested in Borns Jewish Studies Faculty members speaking to your organization? Our Speaker’s Bureau provides your group with many options. More »

Faculty by Department

Core faculty*

Anthropology: Bahloul
Communication and Culture: Simons
Comparative Literature: Marks*
English: Rosenfeld*
Germanic Studies: Kerler*
History: Roseman*, Wahrman, M. Zadoff*, N. Zadoff*
History of Art Facos
Musicology: Cohen*, Goldberg
Near Eastern Languages and Cultures: González Diéguez*, Katz*, Khazzoom*
Political Science: Bielasiak, Isaac, Spechler*
Religious Studies: Schott, Imhoff*, Magid*, Mokhtarian*, Mroczek*
Slavic Languages and Literatures Stern-Gottschalk
Hebrew Language Cover, Maoz-Levy*, Weiss*

Faculty Contact Alphabetical Listing

Joëlle Bahloul

Joëlle Bahloul

Professor of Anthropology
Social and Cultural Anthropology of Judaism and the Jews


bahloul@indiana.edu | Student Building 160 | 812-855-5072 | More »


Jack Bielasiak

Jack Bielasiak

Professor of Political Science and Russian and East European Institute
Politics of the Holocaust


bielasia@indiana.edu | Woodburn Hall 413 | 812-855-5662 | More »


Judah Cohen

Judah Cohen, The Lou and Sybil Mervis Chair in the Study of Jewish Culture, Director of Undergraduate Studies

Associate Professor of Jewish Studies and Musicology
Music in Jewish Life; American Music; Musical Theater; Popular Culture; Caribbean Jewish History; Diaspora; Medical Ethnomusicology


cohenjm@indiana.edu | | 812-855-0453 | More »


Leah Cover

Leah Cover

Lecturer in Modern Hebrew


lecover@indiana.edu | Memorial West 009 | 812-856-1431


Michelle Facos

Michelle Facos

Professor, Department of History of Art
Jewish Art, Jews in Scandinavia before 1915


mfacos@indiana.edu | Fine Arts, Room 132 | 812-855-9559 | More »


Halina Goldberg

Halina Goldberg

Associate Professor of Music, School of Music, Department of Musicology
Chopin, Music in Poland and Eastern Europe, Performance Practice, Reception, and National Constructs


goldberg@indiana.edu | Simon Music Building, Room M325D | 812-855-7096 | More »


Guadalupe González Diéguez

Guadalupe González Diéguez

Assistant Professor of Jewish Studies and Near Eastern Languages and Cultures
Jewish Thought and Philosophy; Intellectual History of the Jews of Islam; Spinoza


gonzguad@indiana.edu | Memorial West 001A | 812-855-4867 | More »


Sarah Imhoff

Sarah Imhoff

Assistant Professor of Jewish Studies & Religious Studies
Gender and Judaism, Race and Jewishness, Rabbinic Literature, American Religious History


seimhoff@indiana.edu | Sycamore 223| More »


Jeffrey Isaac

Jeffrey Isaac

Rudy Professor of Political Science
Political Theory


isaac@indiana.edu | Woodburn Hall | 812-855-8605 | More »


Stephen Katz

Stephen Katz

Professor of Jewish Studies and Near Eastern Languages and Cultures; Adjunct Professor of American Studies
Hebrew; Israeli Culture; Modern Hebrew Literature


katzs@indiana.edu | Goodbody Hall 206 | 812-855-4744 | More »


Dov-Ber Kerler

Dov-Ber Kerler, Dr. Alice Field Cohn Chair in Yiddish Studies

Professor of Jewish Studies and Germanic Studies
History, Dialectology, Sociology, and the Linguistic Analysis of Yiddish; History of Old Yiddish Literature (15th to 18th Century); Yiddish-Slavic Linguistic and Cultural Contacts; Yiddish and Modern Israeli Hebrew; Modern Yiddish Poetry


dkerler@indiana.edu | Ballantine Hall 644 | 812-855-1951 | More »


Aziza Khazzoom

Aziza Khazzoom

Associate Professor of Jewish Studies and Near Eastern Languages and Cultures
Israel Studies


khazzoom@indiana.edu | Goodbody Hall 348 | More »


Shaul Magid

Shaul Magid, Jay and Jeanie Schottenstein Chair in Jewish Studies, Director Graduate Studies

Professor of Jewish Studies and Religious Studies
Jewish Thought; Hasidic Judaism; Modern Jewish Religious Experience


smagid@indiana.edu | Sycamore Hall 225 | 812-856-1469 | More »


Michal Maoz-Levy

Michal Maoz-Levy

Senior Lecturer in Modern Hebrew


mmaoz@indiana.edu | Memorial West 008 | 812-856-1936


Herb Marks

Herbert Marks

Professor, Comparative Literature
Biblical and Literary Studies


marks@indiana.edu | Ballantine Hall 913 | 812-855-7935 | More »


Jason Mokhtarian

Jason Mokhtarian

Assistant Professor, Jewish Studies and Religious Studies
Ancient Judaism; Rabbinics, Judaism in Ancient Iran


jmokhtar@indiana.edu | Sycamore 334| More »


Eva Mroczek

Eva Mroczek

Assistant Professor, Jewish Studies and Religious Studies
Ancient Judaism; Dead Sea Scrolls


emroczek@indiana.edu | Sycamore Hall 207 | More »


Mark Roseman

Mark Roseman, Director of Borns JSP; Pat M. Glazer Chair in Jewish Studies

Professor of Jewish Studies and History
History of the Holocaust; History of Antisemitism; The Holocaust; German-Jewish History


marrosem@indiana.edu | Ballantine Hall 732 | 812-855-8325 | More »


Alvin H. Rosenfeld

Alvin H. Rosenfeld, Irving M. Glazer Chair in Jewish Studies

Director, Institute for the Study of Contemporary Antisemitism; Professor of Jewish Studies and English
Literature of the Holocaust; American Jewish Literature


rosenfel@indiana.edu | Goodbody Hall 306 | 812-855-2325 | More »


Jeremy Schott

Jeremy Schott

Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Religions of the Late Ancient and Byzantine Mediterranean and Near East


jmschott@indiana.edu | Sycamore 209A | More »


Jon Simons

Jon Simons

Associate Professor of Communication and Culture
Israel Cultural Studies


simonsj@indiana.edu | 800 E. Third Street, room 239 | 812-856-0896 | More »


Dina Spechler

Dina Spechler

Associate Professor of Political Science
Comparative Foreign Policy; American, Russian, and Israeli Foreign Policy


spechler@indiana.edu | Woodburn 414 | 812-855-5267 | More »


Ariann Stern-Gottschalk

Ariann Stern-Gottschalk

Director of the IU Summer Language Workshop & Lecturer, Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures
Language pedagogy and assessment; historical Slavic linguistics; Yiddish in Poland


aristern@indiana.edu | Ballantine Hall 570 | 812-855-1648 | More »


Dror Wahrman

Dror Wahrman

Ruth N. Halls Professor of History
History of Ottoman Palestine and Israel


dwahrman@indiana.edu | Ballantine 714 | 812-855-1534 | More »


Ayelet Weiss

Ayelet Weiss, Director of Modern Hebrew Language Program

Senior Lecturer in Modern Hebrew


ayweiss@indiana.edu | Goodbody Hall 312 | 812-855-2338


Mirjam Zadoff

Mirjam Zadoff, Alvin H. Rosenfeld Chair in Jewish Studies

Associate Professor of Jewish Studies and History
History of the Jews of Central Europe; modern Jewish intellectual and cultural history


mizadoff@indiana.edu | Ballantine Hall 827 | 812-855-5164 | More »


Noam Zadoff

Noam Zadoff

Assistant Professor of Jewish Studies and History

Modern Jewish intellectual history; history of Israel


nzadoff@indiana.edu | Ballantine Hall 708 | 812-855-6289 | More »


Post-Doc and Visiting Faculty

Michael Press

Michael Press

Borns Jewish Studies Program Visiting Scholar, 2014-15
The Bible and Archaeology; History of Archaeology of Israel; Archaeology of Religion


mpress@indiana.edu | Memorial Hall West M12 | 812-856-1737


Emeritus Faculty

Jim Ackerman

Jim Ackerman

Professor Emeritus of Religious Studies
Religion of Ancient Israel; Bible


ackerman@indiana.edu | Sycamore Hall 230 | More »


Paul Eisenberg

Paul Eisenberg

Professor Emeritus of Philosophy
Jewish Philosophy


eisenber@indiana.edu | Sycamore Hall 026 | More »


Susan Gubar

Susan Gubar

Distinguished Professor of English
Gender, Race, and Ethnicity in Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century British and American Literature; Holocaust Literature


gubar@indiana.edu | Ballantine Hall 442 | 812-855-3634 | More »


Michael L. Morgan

Michael L. Morgan

Chancellor’s Professor Emeritus, Jewish Studies and Philosophy
Jewish Philosophy


morganm@indiana.edu | Sycamore Hall 026 | 812-855-0206 | More »


Bronislava Volková

Bronislava Volková

Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures
Czech/Jewish Literature; Czech Linguistics and Semiotics


volkova@indiana.edu | Ballantine Hall 512 | 812-855-2359 | More »


Staff

 

md

Melissa Deckard

Events Coordinator


mdeckard@indiana.edu | Goodbody Hall 317 | 812-856-6014


Melissa Hunt

Accounting Representative & Graduate Secretary


huntma@indiana.edu | Goodbody Hall 326 | 812-855-0453


Carolyn Lipson-Walker

Carolyn Lipson-Walker

Assistant Director


clipsonw@indiana.edu | Goodbody Hall 325 | 812-856-6012 | More »


Tracy Richardson

Tracy Richardson

Program Administrator and Fiscal Officer


tracrich@indiana.edu | Goodbody Hall 307 | 812-855-8358