Home » Spring 2010 » About the Kinsey Institute Board of Governors and Trustees

About The Kinsey Institute Board of Governors and Trustees

When The Kinsey Institute was founded by Alfred Kinsey in 1947 as The Institute for Sex Research, it was organized as two separate entities tied together: one an Indiana University research center devoted to research into human sexuality; the other a not-for-profit Indiana corporation which owned the Institute's research data and archives, collections, and databases. Each was governed by a separate board. This separation of duties back in the 1950s allowed the Institute to fulfill its research mission while protecting the privacy and anonymity of the subjects and correspondants who shared information about their sexual lives with researchers.

Today the Kinsey Institute Boards are instrumental in helping to expand our reach and effectiveness around the world. These committed individuals bring their expertise and donate their time to help The Kinsey Institute pursue its goals of research and education, and help to plan for the future. The boards meet several times annually to discuss the state and progress of The Kinsey Institute towards its mission to advance sexual health and knowledge worldwide.

The Kinsey Institute Board of Governors and Board of Trustees, 2009-2010
Left to Right: Alex Doty, Malcolm Daniel, Lauren Robel (former Chair, Board of Governors), Lisa Kinsey Weber, Richard Zhao, Joanne Passett, Hon. Michael Kirby, Wendy Kinsey Corning, Helen Lefkowitz Horowitz, Judy Simic, Julie Goonewardene, KI Director Julia Heiman, Betsy Stirrat, Steven Blake, J. Scott Long, Claude Cookman (Chair, Board of Trustees), Kevin Everod Quashie, Bobby Schnabel, Gail L. Freeman, Fred Cate, Michael Sherrod (Chair, Board of Governors), Lynn Luckow (Advisor to the Boards), Richard Gunderman.

Kinsey Institute Board of Governors

Diane L. Bell-McKoy
President and CEO
Associated Black Charities
Baltimore, MD

Left to right: KI researcher Dr. Eric Janssen, Chair of the KI Board of Governors Michael Sherrod, and KI Trustee Kevin Everod Quashie.

K. Steven Blake
Executive Vice President,
General Counsel and Corporate Secretary
Heidrick & Struggles International, Inc.
Chicago, IL

Fred H. Cate, J.D.
Distinguished Professor,
C. Ben Dutton Professor of Law,
and Director,
Center for Applied Cybersecurity Research
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN

Wendy Kinsey Corning, M.D.
Bloomington, IN

Katherine De Bruyn
Principal, Arcadia Associates, Inc.
Seattle, WA

Troy D. Farmer
Indiana Certified Estate Planning & Administration Specialist
DeFur Voran LLP Fishers
Fishers, IN

Gail L. Freeman
President, Freeman Philanthropic Services, LLC
New York, NY

Left to right: KI Governors Bobby Schnabel and Julie Goodewardene.

Julie K. Goonewardene
Director of Business Development
Purdue Research Foundation
Director of Business Development
Discovery Park at Purdue University
West Lafayette, IN

Richard Gunderman, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice Chair, Radiology
Director, Pediatric Radiology
Professor, Radiology, Pediatrics, Medical Education, Philosophy, Liberal Arts, Philanthropy
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN

The Hon. Michael Kirby, AC, CMG
Sydney, Australia

Dale Leff
Member, Indiana University Foundation Board
New York, NY

Andy Patrick
President and CEO
LiveBooks, Inc.
San Francisco, CA

Left to right: KI Governors Alex Doty, Michael Kirby, and Fred Cate.

Bobby B. Schnabel, Ph.D.
Dean, School of Informatics
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN

Michael Sherrod
Chair, Board of Governors, The Kinsey Institute
Digital Communities Consultant and Author
Ft. Worth, TX

Judy Simic
Clinical social worker and sex therapist
Bloomington, IN

Richard Yuqi Zhao, M.S., Ph.D.
Associate Professor & Chief
Division of Molecular Pathology
Department of Pathology
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD

Senior Advisor to the Board of Governors
Lynn Luckow
President and CEO of Craigslist Foundation
San Francisco, CA

The Kinsey Institute Board of Trustees

Left to right: Senior Advisor to the Kinsey Boards, Lynn Luckow; KI Director Dr. Julia Heiman, Chair of the KI Board of Governors Michael Sherrod, and Chair of the KI Board of Trustees Claude Cookman.

Sarah Burns, Ph.D.
Ruth N. Halls Professor History of Art
School of Fine Arts
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN

Claude Cookman, Ph.D.
Chair, Board of Trustees, The Kinsey Institute
Associate Professor
School of Journalism
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN

Malcolm Daniel, Ph.D.
Curator in Charge
Department of Photographs
Metropolitan Museum of Art
New York, NY

Alex Doty, Ph.D.
Director of Graduate Studies, Communication & Culture
Professor of Gender Studies
Professor of Communication & Culture
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN

Left to right: Chair of the KI Board of Trustees Claude Cookman, KI Trustee Lisa Kinsey Weber, and Helene O'Leary (IU Foundation).

Joanne E. Passet, Ph.D.
Dean, School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Professor of History
Indiana University East
Richmond, IN

Angelo Pizzo
Filmmaker and Writer
Bloomington, IN

Kevin Everod Quashie, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Afro-American Studies
Smith College
Northampton, MA

Betsy Stirratt
Academic Specialist
School of Fine Arts Gallery
Indiana University
Bloomington, IN

Lisa Kinsey Weber
Lisa Weber Design LLC
Hilliard, OH


« Return to Spring 2010 Contents