IU Logo

Collaboration, Advocacy, and Recruitment:
Area and International Studies Librarianship Workshop

October 30-31, 2013
Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana, USA


The workshop organizers have posted three Provocations outlining the context, goals, and themes of the workshop, and five Responses have been written in reply to the Provocation statements. All of these documents are available online (see Documents tab above).

All times given below are Eastern Daylight Time (EDT).

Day One: 8:30 am–4:00 pm (Grand Hall, Neal-Marshall Black Culture Center)

8:00–8:30: CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST (in the Grand Hall)

8:30–8:45: WELCOME

Welcoming remarks by Maria Bucur-Deckard (Associate Dean for International Programs, School of Global and International Studies, The College of Arts and Sciences, and the John W. Hill Professor of East European History, IUB) and Julie Bobay (Associate Dean for Collection Development and Scholarly Communications, IUB) (10 minutes)

Workshop introduction by Marion Frank-Wilson (IUB) (5 minutes)


Moderator: Luis A. González (Librarian for Latin American, Iberian, Latino, and Chicano-Riqueno Studies, IUB)
Online Moderator: Wookjin Cheun (Librarian for Slavic and East European Studies, IUB)

  • Introduction (5 minutes)
  • James Simon (Director for International Resources, CRL) replies to Response 1 (by Frank-Wilson and Stone) (10 minutes)
  • Marion Frank-Wilson (IUB) and Verlon Stone (IUB) respond (10 minutes)
  • Akram Khabibullaev (Librarian for Middle Eastern, Islamic, and Central Eurasian Studies, IUB) replies to Response 2 (by Davis) (10 minutes)
  • Robert Davis (Columbia) responds (10 minutes)
  • General discussion (45 minutes)

10:15–10:30: BREAK


Moderator: Wookjin Cheun (IUB)
Online Moderator: Wen-ling Liu (Librarian for East Asian Studies and Tibetan Collection, IUB)

  • Introduction (5 minutes)
  • Debora (Ralf) Shaw (Chair, Department of Information and Library Science, IUB) replies to Response 3 (by Williford) (10 minutes)
  • Christa Williford (CLIR) responds (10 minutes)
  • Luis A. González (IUB) and Andrew Asher (IUB) speaking about fellowships (20 minutes)
  • Keynote address by Dan Hazen (Associate Director of Collection Development, Harvard College) (25 minutes)
  • General discussion (15 minutes)

12:00–1:00: LUNCH (in the Neal Marshall Center)


Moderator: Wen-ling Liu (IUB)
Online Moderator: Akram Khabibullaev (IUB)

  • Introduction (5 minutes)
  • Jonathan Rodgers (Librarian for the Near East, University of Michigan) replies to Response 4 (by Griego) (10 minutes)
  • Adán Griego (Stanford) responds (10 minutes)
  • Ruby Bell-Gam (Collections Coordinator, Area Studies Team Leader, Librarian for African Studies & International Development Studies, UCLA) replies to Response 5 (by Zhou) (10 minutes)
  • Peter Zhou (Director and Assistant University Librarian of C.V. Starr East Asian Library, UC Berkeley) responds (10 minutes)
  • Keynote address by James Neal (Vice President for Information Services and University Librarian, Columbia University) (25 minutes)

2:10–2:30: BREAK

2:30–4:00: GENERAL DISCUSSION (90 minutes)

Moderator: Wen-ling Liu (IUB)
Online Moderator: Akram Khabibullaev (IUB)

5:30–7:30: RECEPTION (University Club, Indiana Memorial Union)

Day Two: 8:30 am–12:00 noon (Grand Hall, Neal-Marshall Black Culture Center)

8:30–9:00: CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST (in the Grand Hall, Neal Marshall Center)

9:00–10:00: NEXT STEPS

Moderator: Marion Frank-Wilson (IUB)
Online Moderator: Luis A. González (IUB)

  • Introduction by Brenda Johnson (Ruth Lilly Dean of University Libraries, IUB) (10 minutes)
  • Keynote address by Deborah Jakubs (Rita DiGiallonardo Holloway University Librarian and Vice Provost for Library Affairs, Duke University) (25 minutes)
  • Discussion (25 minutes)

10:00–10:10: BREAK

10:10–11:00: WRAP-UP PANEL

Moderator: Marion Frank-Wilson (IUB)
Online Moderator: Luis A. González (IUB)

  • Introduction (5 minutes)
  • Thomas Teper (Associate University Librarian for Collections, Assistant Dean of Libraries, UIUC) (15 minutes)
  • Jeffrey Garrett (Associate University Librarian for Special Libraries and Director, Special Collections and Archives, Northwestern University) (15 minutes)
  • Barbara McFadden Allen (Executive Director, CIC) (15 minutes)


Moderator: Marion Frank-Wilson (IUB)
Online Moderator: Luis A. González (IUB)

  • Discussion (50 minutes)
  • Final thoughts by Marion Frank-Wilson (IUB) (10 minutes)