Skip to main content
University Bloomington

Browse Items (21 total)

This broadside is the first printing of the Declaration of Independence, printed by John Dunlap of Philadelphia on the night of July 4, 1776, and delivered to Congress the next morning. The Declaration was drafted by the Committee of Five: Thomas Jefferson, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Robert Livingston, and Roger Sherman. Congress voted for independence on July 2 and the entire Congressional…