Skip to main content
indiana university bloomington

Programs & Services: Publications: Collection Guides: Clifford Odets Papers

I. Correspondence, 1921 - 1963 (Box 1 - Box 8, f.2)

Arranged chronologically. Consult the Manuscripts Index for dates of letters of individual correspondents. Only a select number of correspondents have been indexed. See also: X. Business/Financial; XII. Additions

Among the correspondents are: Luther Adler, Stella Adler, Boris Aronson, Brooks Atkinson, Peter Bogdanovich, Bessie Breuer, Bennett Alfred Cerf, Charles Spencer Chaplin, Harold Edgar Clurman, Aaron Copland, Cheryl Crawford, Bette Davis, Theodore Dreiser, Hanns Eisler, Waldo David Frank, Ira Gershwin, William Walker Gibson, Cuthbert Morton Girdleston, Ruth Gordon, Cary Grant, Paul Eliot Green, Moss Hart, Audrey Hepburn, Elia Kazan, Howard Lindsay, Leonard Lyons, Archibald MacLeish, Sanford Meisner, Louis Nizer, John O'Hara, Kenneth Patchen, Luise Rainer, Jean Renoir, Eleanor Roosevelt, Aline (Bernstein) Saarinen, Irene Mayer Selznick, Lee Strasberg, Herbert Bayard Swope, Carl Van Vechten, Jerry Wald, and Fay Wray.

Box 1: 1921 - May 1938
Box 2: June 1938 - December 1942
Box 3: January 1943 - February 1948
Box 4: March 1948 - June 1953
Box 5: July 1953 - November 1955
Box 6: December 1955 - July 1958
Box 7: August 1958 - October 1963
Box 8: Fan letters to George Gershwin
Fan letters to Burt Lancaster


Ask a question

Libraries Privacy Policy

Last updated: 10 September 2012

The Lilly Library, 1200 East Seventh Street, Bloomington, Indiana, 47405-5500   Tel. 812-855-2452  Fax. 812-855-3143

Comments: Use our online form or email liblilly [at]