Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Anna Karenina mss., 1935, consist of papers relating to the motion picture Anna Karenina, an M-G-M release directed by Clarence Brown and written by Clemence Dane and Salka Viertel. There are detailed descriptions and requests for changes to particular scenes, as well as portions of the revised script. Most of the correspondence is among the screenwriters, producers and directors of the film discussing various changes in the script. Correspondents include: Samuel Nathaniel Behrman, Joseph Ignatius Breen, Val Lewton, Louis Burt Mayer, David Oliver Selznick and William H. Wright. A synopsis of the book by Leo Tolstoy with page one missing and a brief outline of the scenes complete the collection. The collection is arranged in chronological order.

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.