Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Capra Press mss., 1955- , contain the correspondence, book production material, manuscripts, galleys, printing records, and cost sheets of printer/publisher Noel Young of Santa Barbara, California.

The press was founded in 1948 as Noel Young Printer, produced the first Capricorn Press book in 1969, and in July 1972 changed to its present name, Capra Press. These particular files date most heavily from 1966 to present, although some correspondence relating to Young's letter press job printing for other publishers dates from 1955.

The archive is divided broadly into three categories: correspondence with authors, journals, prospective authors, other publishers, etc.; works printed and published by Noel Young; works printed for other publishers, including Black Sparrow Press, Cayucos press, Christopher's Books, Goose Cove press, Oyez, Scrimshaw press, Something Else press, Unicorn press, and Unpublished Editions. Each of these series is arranged first chronologically by year of accession, then alphabetically by correspondent, author, or press.

Correspondents in the collection include Will Baker, Clayton C. Barbeau, Peter Beagle, William Benton, Dave Bohn, Eugene Howard Boudreau, Ray Bradbury, Alan Brilliant, Edwin Brock, Andreas Brown, Lennart Bruce, Charles Bukowski, Wynn Bullock, Leonora Carrington, Raymond Carver, George F. Christians, Andrei Codrescu, Lewis Augustus Coffin, Alexander Comfort, Richard DeMille, Diane Di Prima, Edward Dorn, Renate Druks, Beverly Dubin, Robert Durand, Lawrence Durrell, Gretel Ehrlich, Clayton Eshelman, William Everson, Lawrence Fixel, Barry Gifford, Edward Gorey, Robert Gover, Gregory Grace, Gordon Grant, Blanca Nyland Hamri, Richard C. Higgins, Jack Hirschman, Rochelle Holt, Lee Hopkins, James D. Houston, Joseph Jaqua, William C. Kaysing, David Kherdian, Faye Kicknosway, Zig Knoll, Greg Kuzma, Ursula K. LeGuin, Lyn Lifshin, Sam Long, Jack McQuarrie, Hugo Manning, Morton Marcus, John Martin, David Meltzer, Jerred Metz, Kenneth Millar, Henry Miller, Bob Nash, Robert Nathan, Ana‹s Nin, William Francis Nolan, Gloria Orenstein, Otto Penzler, Lawrence Clark Powell, Carlos Reyes, Hubert Ribeiro, William J. Robson, Edouard Roditi, Mary Savage, Leighton G. Steele, Leslie Clark Stevens, Joseph Stroud, Lynn Sukenick, Fr'd'ric Jacques Temple, Carl Thayler, Jim White, Colin Wilson, and Noel Young.

The files also include a brief history of the press prepared by Noel Young, clippings about the press, and some photographs of Capra authors.

There is a list of the Archive with full description of its contents in the Collections File.

Collection size: 12,300 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.