Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Cleverdon mss., 1953-1973, consist of the correspondence of Douglas Cleverdon, 1903-1987, radio Features Producer for the British Broadcasting Corporation. Cleverdon began his career as a free-lance actor and writer for the BBC West Region; in 1939 he joined that organization as part of the Children's Hour and in 1943 he became Features Producer in London, working primarily with the Third Programme from its inception in Sept. 1946 until his retirement in 1969. Since that time he has continued as a free-lance producer.

The correspondence chiefly concerns the scripts and productions for Third Programme produced by Cleverdon. Correspondents include Tony Aspler, Guy Brenton, Jacob Bronowski, Douglas Cleverdon, Maurice William Cranston, Thomson William Gunn, Brion Gysin, Rene Hague, David Higham, Daryl Hine, William Andrew Jackson, William Stanley Merwin, Sir Francis Meynell, Liam Miller, Adrian Mitchell, Alan Noel Latimer Munby, Richard Murphy, Bill Naughton, Percy Howard Newby, Leslie Mahin Oliver, Sean O'Riada, Bill Owen, Conrad Pepler, Kathleen Jessie Raine, Sir Herbert Edward Read, William J. Russo, Donald Swann, Joan Tarbet, Robert H. Taylor, Vernon Phillips Watkins and Francis Watson.

Also present is an unpublished manuscript by Dylan Thomas, sent to Cleverdon by Thomas' literary executor David Higham, and an annotated typescript list of all BBC radio programs produced by Cleverdon, 1942-1970.

Collection size: 118 items

Related manuscripts: Cleverdon mss. II

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.