Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Comic Art mss., 1906-1967, consist of original illustrations for comic books, newspaper comic sections, pulp magazines, and film animations. Included are examples of the work of such cartoonists, animators and illustrators as Carl Anderson, Walter Berndt, Ernest Paul Bushmiller, Eugene Byrnes, Milton Arthur Caniff, Al Capp, Royston Campbell Crane, Percy Leo Crosby, William Morgan Debeck, B.W. Depew, Rudolph Dirks, Walt Disney Productions, Edward Benton Dodd, Charles Flanders, Harold Rudolph Foster, Floyd Gottfredson, Vernon van Atta Greene, Hanna-Barbara Productions, Ralph Heimdahl, George Herriman, William Holman, Harold Knerr, Marty Links, Al McKimson, George McManus, Metro-Goldwyn- Mayer, Inc., Bob Montana, Jimmy Murphy, Frederick Burr Opper, Charles Plumb, Alexander Gillespie Raymond, John Romita, Jose Luis Salinas, Charles Monroe Schulz, Sidney Smith, Otto Soglow, Pat Sullivan, Alfred Taliaferro, Paul H. Terry, Raeburn Van Buren, Russell Channing Westover, Frank Willard, Al Williamson, Charles Winner, and Chic Young.

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.