Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Cordell mss., 1909-1963, consist of letters to Richard Albert Cordell, 1896-1986, university professor, from prominent literary figures.

Among the correspondents are Franklin Pierce Adams, George Ade, Maxwell Anderson, Winifred Ashton, Samuel Nathaniel Behrman, Maxwell Struthers Burt, Witter Bynner, Rachel Crothers, Cleo Dawson, David Cornel DeJong, Arthur Durham Divine, Paul Hamilton Engle, St. John Greer Ervine, Maurice Evans, John Galsworthy, Florence Emily (Dugdals) Hardy, Moss Hart, Lillian Hellman, Josephine (Jackson) Hubbard, Hatcher Hughes, Robert Nichols Hunt, Henry Arthur Jones, George Simon Kaufman, George Edward Kelly, Sir Gerald Festus Kelly, Doris Emerick Lee, Eva LeGallienne, Benn Wolfe Levy, Sir Desmond MacCarthy, Jessica Nelson (North) MacDonald, Angus McDonnell, William Somerset Maugham, Henry Louis Mencken, Ogden Nash, Allardyce Nicoll, Sean O'Casey, Eugene Gladstone O'Neill, William Lyon Phelps, Sir Arthur Wing Pinero, Elmer L. Rice, Lennox Robinson, Alan Searle, Bernard Sobel, Philip Duffield Stong, John William Van Druten, Kurt Vonnegut, Leonard Daniel Wickenden.

Collection size: 124 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.