Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Curle mss., 1901-1966, consist primarily of letters sent to author Richard Curle, 1883-1968, and most often relate to Joseph Conrad.

Correspondents include Jocelyn Baines, James Bone, Jessie (George) Conrad, John Conrad, Robert Bontine Cunninghame Graham, Richard Curle, Herbert Albert Laurens Fisher, Maurice Buxton Forman, John Galsworthy, David Garnett, Sydney Horler, Thomas Ernest Hulme, Sir Geoffrey Langdon Keynes, A.P. Marwood, Lady Dorothy Rachel Melissa Mills, George Edward Moore, Christopher Darlington Morley, Simon Harcourt Nowell- Smith, Fannie Elizabeth Ratchford, Benjamin Lawrence Reid, Forrest Reid, William Michael Rossetti, Michael Sadleir, Edward Shanks, Sir Sacheverell Sitwell, Sir John Collings Squire, George Macaulay Trevelyan, Ralph Vaughan Williams, Ian P. Watt, Arthur Waugh, and Thomas James Wise.

Collection size: 271 items

Related manuscripts: Curle mss. II, Curle mss. III, Curle mss. IV

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.