Lilly Library Manuscript Collections


The Denson mss., 1890-1967, are papers of Alan Denson, 1930- , author, most of which were assembled for his book Letters From AE. The collection have been divided into five categories: 1. Correspondence. Most of the letters were written to Denson between 1950-1960 from artists, authors, editors, librarians, musicians, publishers, and friends of Russell. Among the correspondents are Sir Norman Angell, Hamilton Fish Armstrong, Helen Francesca Maude (Schweitzer) Bantock, Mabel Mary Barker, Dudley W. Barr, Roy Prentice Basler, Sir Arnold Edward Trevor Bax, Clifford Bax, David Kighley Baxandall, Henry Martin Belden, Osborn Joseph Bergin, Richard Irvine Best, Julius Seelye Bixler, Edmund Charles Blunden, Thomas Patrick Bodkin, William Henry Bond, Jocelyn Brooke, Van Wyck Brooks, Douglas Wallace Bryant, H.R. Chillingworth, Austin Clarke, George Douglas Howard Cole, Daniel Corkery, Constantine Peter Curran, Eric Robertson Dodds, James Green Douglas, Ronald Ossory Dunlop, Charles Sutherland Elton, St. John Greer Ervine, Eleanor Farjeon, Edward Augustus Fitzpatrick, Edward Morgan Forster, Joanna Fortune, John Merriman Gaus, Wilfred Wilson Gibson, Oliver St. John Gogarty, John Dozier Gordan, Ronald Gorell Barnes, baron Gorell, Robert Graves, William Cabell Greet, Francis Hackett, Constance Geraldine (Tyrrell) Hanson, Jeannette (DeSouter) Hare, Sir Rupert Charles Hart-Davis, Heinz H"pfl, Joseph Maunsell Hone, Laurence Housman, Arthur William Hummel, Richard William Hunt, Aldous Leonard Huxley, Mark Hoyt Ingraham, John Irvine, Thomas Jones, John F. Kelly, Harold Strong Latham, Hugh Francis d'Assisi Sturat Law, Sir Shane Leslie, Elizabeth (Conner) Lindsay, Maud (Gonne) MacBride, Stephen Anthony McCarthy, Se n MacEoin, Edward MacLysaght, Daniel Macmillan, William Kirkpatrick Magee, John Masefield, David Chambers Mearns, Charles Douglas Medley, Albert Victor Murray, Thomas Cornelius Murray, Sir Harold George Nicholson, George O'Brien, Sean O'Casey, Michael O'Donovan, Sean O'Faolain, Joseph O'Neill, T.G.F. Paterson, Frances Perkins, Ruth Pitter, James Burton Pond, Sir Bruce Lyttelton Richmond, Charles Coates Riddall, Edward Robertson, Lennox Robinson, Sir John Knewstub Maurice Rothenstein, Bertrand Russell, 3rd earl Russell, John Gilbert Simon, 2nd viscount Simon, Sir Lionel Eldred Pottinger, bart. Smith-Gordon, Robert William Speaight, Stephen Spender, James Sullivan Starkey, Walter Fitzwilliam Starkie, Leonard Alfred George Strong, Simone T'ry, Gilbert Oliver Thomas, Pamela Lyndon Travers, Lawrence Roger Thompson, Eric Gordon Underwood, Helen Jane Waddell, Allan Wade, Sophia Wadia, Henry Agard Wallace, Vernon Phillips Watkins, Walter Muir Whitehill, Milburn Lincoln Wilson, Edwin Emil Witte, Georgie (Hyde-Lees) Yeats, and Andrew Young. 2. Writings. In the writings are (a) notes; (b) drafts of the printed writings by George W. Russell (AE). A Bibliography compiled by Denson printed under the same title. Evanston, Illinois, Northwestern University Press, 1961 (Lilly PR6035 .U7 Z42); (c) drafts and galley proofs of Letters From AE edited by Denson and printed under the same title. London, New York, Toronto, Abelard-Schuman, 1961 (Lilly PR6035 .U7 Z5 1961). 3. Russell, G.W. (AE) Autograph letters from Russell to Joanna Fortune, 1916-1919; Charles Coates Riddall, December 1, 1934, and Riddall's reply December 6, 1934; George Santayana, September 19, 1933, and Santayana's reply September 22, 1933; twelve letters to Eleanor Jane Skipworth, 1917-1935; and two undated letters from Susan Langstaff Mitchell to Eleanor Jane Skipworth. These are in a folder marked originals. Denson mss. Russell, G.W. (AE). There are two folders of photostats of letters from Russell not used in Denson's book and filed in Alphabetical order by recipient in Denson mss. Russell, G.W. (AE). The recipients include Rosamund Bantock, Clifford Bax, Osborn Joseph Bergin, Richard Irvine Best, Robert Seymour Bridges, C.H. Coffey, Edward John Moreton Drax Plunkett, 18th baron Dunsany, Lady Beatrice Child (Villiers) Dunsany, St. John Greer Ervine, Joanna Fortune, Oliver St. John Gogarty, Sir Partick Joseph Henry Hannon, Irene Haugh, Sir John and Lady Lavery, Edith (White) Norman, Harry Felix Norman, Sean O'Faolain, Montagu Perville, Ruth Pitter, James Morgan Pryse, Sarah Henrietta Purser, George Roberts, Sir John Collings Squire, Mary Sutcliffe, Gilbert Oliver Thomas, George Philip Wells, and William Butler Yeats. 4. Photocopies of: A notebook presented by Russell to Susan Langstaff Mitchell on her birthday in 1902; the registration of the rules of the Irish National Theatre Society, 1905; Russell's membership card of the Theosophical Society, 1890; Russell's passport signed by Timothy Michael Healy, governor- general of the Irish Free State, 1926; and poems and prose by Russell and printed matter. A few photocopies are in an oversize folder. 5. Photographs of Russell and his friends.

Purchase. Elkin Mathews, Ltd., Hertfordshire, England. 1967

Collection size: 1,650 items

For more information about this collection and any related materials contact the Public Services Department, Lilly Library, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN 47405. Call (812) 855-2452 or send an email using our Ask a Question form.